Chocolate Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
i used 3/4 a cup of cocoa and it has a nice taste to it. But i was too full for my pan and rose until it was almost touching the top of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
My husband has sweet memories of his aunt's Chocolate Pound Cake, and was ecstatic to find the original, hand-written recipe tucked into an old Southern cookbook. Unfortunately, the directions were vague and the result did not live up to the memory. We tried others, but this is the best, and by far the easiest to make. Perfect texture: firm but light, just moist enough, sweet but not too sweet. Delicate dusting of confectioner's sugar...yes we will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Farmer's Daughter
Home Town: Jordan, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Westchester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
this is a good cake, but not very chocolaty..i had to make some adjustments, as i didn't have enough butter, so i used a half cup butter and a half cup "Parkay" i also used buttermilk instead of regular milk (all i had on hand) and used 1/3 c cocoa.. it's light and nice.. but with a subtle chocolate flavor. i would make this again. i used my Wilton 3-D Cruiser pan... came out nice. more than enough cake batter...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
Everyone loved this who tried it. I did the 1/2 cup of cocoa as others had mentioned. I used unsalted butter and though it was lacking some depth I was looking for. Will try salted butter and see what happens. The cake is gone, I like the denseness of it but it was still light at the same time. Maybe some mini chocolate chip stirred in will give it what I was looking for. Great recipe though, simple. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yorktown Heights, New York, USA
Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
This was a good cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
This was so good! I added double the cocoa and it was PERFECT! I didn't put the powdered sugar on top, either. It was yummy just how I made it! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by geranium

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
I thought this pound cake was just okay. Maybe I expected a more chocolatey taste. It tasted like a regular pound cake... you really don't taste the chocolate. Also, it's a thick cake and not very sweet. I did add white icing to the top of mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2008
It turned out good; a little dry and not as chocolate-y than I wanted though, but good none the less. I may try adding 1/2 or 3/4s a cup of cocoa next time I make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2007
I liked this recipe, but I love chocolate! So, I added 1/2 Cup of cocoa instead of 1/4 cup. Once I tried it, I felt that it needed more cocoa powder for a stronger chocolate flavor. This cake did come out very moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2007
Moist, and wonderful! I would recommend this to anyone and everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States