Chocolate Pound Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
Very good! Very chocolaty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maggiemae1962

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
Great moist cake - very chocolatey! I made this cake exactly like the recipe and it turned wonderful. - thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Little River, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
This cake was awesome!! It is so moist. I only made two modifications. I added two sticks of butter instead of 1 1/2 and used instant cocoa mix instead of the coffee. That really added a boost to the chocolate flavor. Bravo!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TonyaC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
This is the best chocolate pound cake I have ever tasted! It is very moist and dense, with a good chocolate flavor. I added a simple chocolate glaze icing and used only a splash of coffee in the cake batter. The buttermilk made the cake a tiny bit too tangy for my taste - I may substitute it with heavy cream next time. If you love the idea of a chocolate pound cake but have only found dry recipes, this is the one for you. Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
I have to say i really didn't like this pound cake. I love a dense moist cake, but i didn't like the texture or the flavor of this one. It's very sweet - but not particularly chocolatey, and the texture is a little beyond dense - i can't think of the right word. It's too much. I won't make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
This was just ok for me. I needed a chocolate pound cake for a 3-D cake pan for one of my kid's birhtday parties and I tried this recipe after reading the spectacular reviews. The taste is great, but not over the top; however, I made two batches of this cake and tried it in several different cake pan, each time the cake fell in the middle. I think most of them are salvageable (kids won't notice once they are all decorated) but I am dissapointed. The next time I make a chocolate pound cake, I will try a different recipe. Good, just not great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
It was wonderful!!! I used a cup less sugar by accident but it was more than sweet enough. Will make again very soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
If you like a dense chocolate cake this is a great one. Take the cocoa powder up to 1 cup if you really want heavy chocolate flavor. I took this up another notch by using the chocolate ganache recipe for icing. Yes, that seems over the top but you only need a sliver so it can feed a lot of people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lenihan5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
I am not a cake lover but this cake is so delicious! I made it for my sons birthday a year ago, and he has requested it several times since then. I am making it again this year for his 5th birthday. The only thing I did differently was I used a homemade frosting (since it was a birthday cake).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamlin, New York, USA
Living In: Hopewell, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
I have made this cake at least 5 of 6 times because everyone keeps requesting it. It is fabulous!! It does need longer bake time (1 1/2 hours) and I beat the butter and sugar a full 5 minutes before adding the eggs. The coffee enhances the flavor of the chocolate - you cannot discern the coffee at all. My most requested cake.... try it!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ga.Mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 267) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States