Chocolate Pound Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
The cake turned out really good, I used a little more butter and a little less sugar than the recipe called for and it was great. I only gave it 3 stars because I was really looking for a chocolate pound cake and this cake tastes exactly like a brownie. Good but now what I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
Very nice chocolatey flavour. This is a dense, almost browney-like cake. I added a couple extra teaspoons of baking powder to try and make it a bit fluffier and it seemed to give a bit extra lift. Next time I might cut the sugar a bit though, 3 cups is a lot! I served it with orange buttercream icing - yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
I bake for my coworkers once a week, and they pronounced this cake the best thing I've ever made. My convection oven runs pretty cold -- I don't think it made it up above 300 degrees the whole time, and I had to leave it in for 90 minutes (covering the top with aluminum foil after about 30 minutes). But the cake wound up with a slight crust on the outside, and perfectly fudge-like on the inside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
YUM! Not what I expected. This cake tastes like a cross between a brownie and a mild chocolate cake. Very dense, but soft crumb. Really, really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SARAHBEAN007
Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tracy
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
This cake was so wonderful. I did substitute sour cream for the buttermilk. It came out super moist this way. Also I did not have instant coffee so I used 1/4 of extra strong coffee that i had sitting in my pot from the day before. Make sure that you beat the butter and eggs until the color turns a pale yellow.(light and fluffy) I also put a glaze on it. 1 can of sweetened condensed milk, 8 baking squares of sweetened chocolate and 1 teaspoon of vanilla. Melt the chocolate squares in the microwave, then add condensed milk and vanilla. Also it make be thick so just add cream or milk 1 tablesppon at a time until you like the consistency. Then pour over cooled cake...This is going to be a recipe I will make over and over! 5 stars anyday! Many compliments
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
This was so incredibly moist! I made this in a bundt pan using bold coffee brewed at home, and when the cake was cooled, I used a white chocolate brandy glaze to drizzle over the top. Everyone loved it and devoured it, even though it was after a large thanksgiving dinner. Will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
This is good. I served it with caramel sauce, whip cream and frozen raspberries. Keeps well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
Very good! Very chocolaty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maggiemae1962

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
Great moist cake - very chocolatey! I made this cake exactly like the recipe and it turned wonderful. - thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Little River, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
This cake was awesome!! It is so moist. I only made two modifications. I added two sticks of butter instead of 1 1/2 and used instant cocoa mix instead of the coffee. That really added a boost to the chocolate flavor. Bravo!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TonyaC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 274) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States