Chocolate Pound Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 8, 2011
Better than any store bought cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
I made this cake for my friends birthday and she loved it! Its definitely pound cake, not a light and crumbly cake, its thick and rich. I topped it off with ganache and Oreo cookies. Big croud please, but if your feeding it to little kids, not at a night because they'll be bouncing off the walls after!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2011
This was wonderful. I had never made a pound cake before and this came out perfect. Taste wonderful and was not hard to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
I bake weekly for my husbands chocolate addicted co-workers and this is their new favorite! They loved this with a simple ganache frosting filling the center and drizzles over the top and sides! I used 1/4 strong coffee from my keurig, and a 1/2 teaspoon of almond.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
This cake was not a pound cake; it was a brownie. It was way too dense and chewy. It had no loft nor crumb like one would expect with a "cake". The taste was mediocre at best. The chocolate flavor was too delicate and it just needed a little something extra. I followed the recipe exactly and I am truly disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: La Porte, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
Delicious! Super moist and dense. I make two round layers and pour hot fudge frosting over them. Rave reviews every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kinwart

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
I was looking for a sturdy cake for a stand up cake. Unfortunately this cake did not rise much so it didn't fill the top of my pan. I followed the recipe except for cutting back on the sugar since I was going to frost it. It has an ok flavor and dense texture. I won't be bake again unless it was specifically requested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
This is the best chocolate cake recipe I've made. I baked it in regular round cake pans for a truly divine layer cake. This cake was dense enough to hold up to fondant decorating and it tasted wonderfully moist! Definitely a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jmimom

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
Delicious. I have been looking for a chocolate pound cake recipe that will be as good as my mothers - this one is very close. It is dense so it's difficult to get through a big piece. I will probably add a couple of minutes to cook time. Even though a toothpick came out clean, I think some additional time in the oven would have helped. It was a little too gooey in a small area. I am not deterred though, I will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
Oh. My. Goodness. This was quite possibly one of the best cakes I've ever tasted, and that's no small feat. Being chocoholics, my husband and I topped it with a chocolate ganache, but honestly it didn't need it. It was perfectly moist all by itself. Also, we omitted the coffee and simply added the hot water with 1/4 cup more cocoa and it was perfect. I will DEFINITELY be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 270) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States