Chocolate Pound Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Shanna
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
OMG! If this cake gets any better the second day I eat it, I will certainly float up to heaven! This is truly the best chocolate pound cake recipe I have ever made. (And I am constantly looking for the perfect chocolate pound cake recipe.) It has a nice crispy outside and a moist, tender, fudgy interior. I made it as written making sure to use room temperature ingredients. I added 3/4 cup semisweet choc chips to the batter at the end of mixing. I baked in a bundt pan on my convection setting at 300 degrees for 75 min. After I took it out I sat it on top a warm wet kitchen towel & cooled it for 20 min which helped it better release from the pan. Then I made a choc glaze over a low heat by using melted butter, canned milk, p sugar, choc chips and vanilla. After drizzling cake w the glaze I sifted p sugar over it. This cake is AMAZING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shanna

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
Oh boy oh boy! This is the ultimate chocolate cake. You know that something tastes great when your guests ask to take a piece home :) So delicious, so moist, so chocolaty! Don't omit the coffee it adds a great subtle taste. I made cupcakes using this recipe and they also tasted great. Thank you for a PHENOMENAL recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
This cake was amazing. I made this cake as a gift. It smelled so good, I made another one the next day to keep. It was wonderful. I don't understand the negative reviews or why others seemed to have a problem. I followed the recipe to the letter and the taste and texture was phenomenal. I used a high-quality cocoa powder (Pernigotti Cocoa). A cheaper quality cocoa powder may not have made such a rich cake. I will make this cake again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
Love the recipe and I didn't have to shop for strange ingredients. Not really chocolates like I evil packed but still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2013
Yum! I followed the recipe exactly. I used it to make a 3D train cake (Wilton pan). I had enough left over to make 3 cupcakes (baked about 30 minutes) and just tasted one. It was great. The train looks good, dense enough to stand up properly, and I anticipate it will taste just as good as the cupcake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
This is a decadent chocolate cake,made it for the first time to serve for dessert and it was a hit, however I reduced the amount of sugar in the recipe and it was still a bit sweet so I will reduce that some more but it was a hit and a keeper for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
Excellent cake. I think you could actually use one cup of cocoa if you really want a dark chocolate. I have made this many times, and now throw in a cup of mini-chocolate chips. As is, it's a 5-star recipe, and w/additions it's equally great. Thanks for the posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
I tried baking this recipe today in a loaf pan and was able to produce 4 loaves (7x3") for 55min at 325F however after cooling down, the cake shrank / doesnt look good ...... ive been wondering why despite so many good reviews.... havent tasted it yet, will try it tom :-( No final rating yet until i taste it...... kinda disappointed with how it looks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
This recipe did make a good chocolate pound cake! I followed the recipe exactly except for the instant coffee granules. That is something I never have on hand so I used my instant espresso powder instead and it did give it a rich flavor. I did not use a Bundt pan, but instead used 2 loaf pans. The cake comes out pound-cake dense like it is supposed to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Joyce
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
We chose this recipe for our wedding cake - first try. Fantastic! You really could scarf down the batter itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joyce

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 271) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States