Chocolate Pound Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
This was a great cake! Very moist. It doesn't have a rich chocolate flavor which is fine because I drizzled some melted chocolate on top which made this a 5 star recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mike Green

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
I am not an expert baker. Actually, this is my first ever cake from scratch! It was more than I had hoped for! I took it to a church dinner and people were raving over it! I went by the recipe exactly as written. Absolutely no problems. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cara Pratt Chute

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2009
Great, no problems with this. I make a 1/2 batch and use a tube pan. I used buttermilk powder (in water) and bulk style dutch cocoa from my local food co-op. It disappears FAST! I start the kitchenaid whipping the wet ingredients while I measure out the dry and flour the pan, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
I made this cake for two birthdays recently, and it got rave reviews at both! I used 1/4 cup espresso instead of the graunulated coffee. Also, the first time I made it, an emergency came up part way through putting the cake together, so I refrigerated the wet batter and mixed everything together hours later. It didn't rise as much, so was even more of a pound cake, but was still delightful! I found it is topped nicely with equal parts whipped cream (real!) and sour cream, with some raspberries. I want to use this for my wedding cake, so will soon be making one to freeze; will write back with a review on how that goes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Campbell River, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
I liked this cake & had fun making it. It is more dense than I expected for a pound cake. Greased pan with Crisco and floured with cocoa powder - no issues coming out of pan. After 60 min toothpick was not clean. Gave 10 more min & pick was clean, however there was a fudgy layer running thru near the top. Maybe it needed a bit more time?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Crosse, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
I made mini bundt cakes as seen in the picture. They took about 25 minutes to bake and were very moist and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holt, Michigan, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2009
I am a novice cake maker and have no explanation for why this cake tasted bad and not like a pound cake, fell in the oven, and completely broke apart coming out of the pan. Extremely disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2009
This cake is wonderful. The only change I made was to substitute 4 oz. melted baker's chocolate for the coffee (I don't like the flavor of coffee in my chocolate cakes). Please note that the flavor and texture of this cake changes (for the better) overnight, so plan on making this a day before it is actually needed. I only gave it four stars because the texture of the cake, while moist and great, is not what I would consider the texture of a true pound cake to be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimz11

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
I put the satiny chocolate glaze on this cake it's sooooooo good. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
Halved the recipe with your calculator and baked it in an old 9-inch tube pan. I used a smaller amount of fructose instead of sugar and spelt flour as my husband cannot eat wheat. Yummy, buttery flavor. Just what I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 275) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Cream Cheese Pound Cake III

A classic recipe for a cream cheese pound cake.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States