Chocolate Pound Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2015
This was the first home made pound cake I have baked. It is by far the best pound cake I have ever had. I guess you could say that I recommend this recipe. Top with some of your favorite vanilla bean ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
Shh... don't tell my mother but this beats HER recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
This recipe deserves 4 stars as is. I made it a second time with the following changes, I omitted the coffee and used 1/4 cup extra buttermilk as another reviewer suggested, and I substituted 1 tsp of vanilla with almond extract, then topped with a chocolate glaze (also with almond extract in place of vanilla). With these changes this is the most moist and delicious chocolate cake I've ever tasted and made. It's also good with chopped walnuts and coconut sprinkled on top. Thank you for the great base recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
This was beautiful AND delicious. I placed raspberries in the center and a few around the cake; then dusted with confectioner's sugar. It was lovely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ardys

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Spring Grove, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Duluth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
The cake had little to no flavor. It was moist and baked fine, but it didn't have a chocolate taste at all. I wouldn't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
This cake is amazing! I made this for my dads birthday and left it in the microwave for two days but even then it never lost its moistness. The only trouble I had was when I baked it, it took close to 1 hour and 45 min. Other than that it is perfect!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oceanside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
My 13-year-old daughter made this by herself and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
This cake was good and easy to make. It was a little too sweet, so I will reduce the sugar by a half cup. Liked the settle hint of coffee. I plan to use this recipe again in the near future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2014
This is the most deliciious chocolate pound cake I have made....I did put a light icing on it...so good....Froze it because I was going away and when it thawed out, it was soooooooo great....Dad enjoyed it very much.... Terry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Enos

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
Loved it! Not crumbly and had a moist, dense, smooth texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 271) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States