Chocolate Pound Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 2, 2014
This is the most deliciious chocolate pound cake I have made....I did put a light icing on it...so good....Froze it because I was going away and when it thawed out, it was soooooooo great....Dad enjoyed it very much.... Terry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Enos

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
Loved it! Not crumbly and had a moist, dense, smooth texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shanna
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
OMG! If this cake gets any better the second day I eat it, I will certainly float up to heaven! This is truly the best chocolate pound cake recipe I have ever made. (And I am constantly looking for the perfect chocolate pound cake recipe.) It has a nice crispy outside and a moist, tender, fudgy interior. I made it as written making sure to use room temperature ingredients. I added 3/4 cup semisweet choc chips to the batter at the end of mixing. I baked in a bundt pan on my convection setting at 300 degrees for 75 min. After I took it out I sat it on top a warm wet kitchen towel & cooled it for 20 min which helped it better release from the pan. Then I made a choc glaze over a low heat by using melted butter, canned milk, p sugar, choc chips and vanilla. After drizzling cake w the glaze I sifted p sugar over it. This cake is AMAZING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shanna

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
Oh boy oh boy! This is the ultimate chocolate cake. You know that something tastes great when your guests ask to take a piece home :) So delicious, so moist, so chocolaty! Don't omit the coffee it adds a great subtle taste. I made cupcakes using this recipe and they also tasted great. Thank you for a PHENOMENAL recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
This cake was amazing. I made this cake as a gift. It smelled so good, I made another one the next day to keep. It was wonderful. I don't understand the negative reviews or why others seemed to have a problem. I followed the recipe to the letter and the taste and texture was phenomenal. I used a high-quality cocoa powder (Pernigotti Cocoa). A cheaper quality cocoa powder may not have made such a rich cake. I will make this cake again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
Love the recipe and I didn't have to shop for strange ingredients. Not really chocolates like I evil packed but still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2013
Yum! I followed the recipe exactly. I used it to make a 3D train cake (Wilton pan). I had enough left over to make 3 cupcakes (baked about 30 minutes) and just tasted one. It was great. The train looks good, dense enough to stand up properly, and I anticipate it will taste just as good as the cupcake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
This is a decadent chocolate cake,made it for the first time to serve for dessert and it was a hit, however I reduced the amount of sugar in the recipe and it was still a bit sweet so I will reduce that some more but it was a hit and a keeper for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
Excellent cake. I think you could actually use one cup of cocoa if you really want a dark chocolate. I have made this many times, and now throw in a cup of mini-chocolate chips. As is, it's a 5-star recipe, and w/additions it's equally great. Thanks for the posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
I tried baking this recipe today in a loaf pan and was able to produce 4 loaves (7x3") for 55min at 325F however after cooling down, the cake shrank / doesnt look good ...... ive been wondering why despite so many good reviews.... havent tasted it yet, will try it tom :-( No final rating yet until i taste it...... kinda disappointed with how it looks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 263) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States