Chocolate Pound Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2001
I made this cake Easter. My family loved it. Everyone wanted the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2002
Incredibly moist, delicious, perfect chocolate taste! Easy to make, once you've assembled the roster of ingredients. Be sure to make this one to three days ahead of serving time. Wrap well, chill, and then remove from the 'frig about an hour before serving. Enjoy with powdered sugar and fresh strawberries. Truly divine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2002
I made this in a hurry for company coming from the airport-- I knew I wouldn't have time to frost it because my company would be arriving when the cake came out of the oven. I had chosen it because of the idea in presentation; too often chocolate cakes can be pretty scary looking. I did get a bit scared when I noticed it FELL during cooling, but I turned it out onto a plate and it was fine. Incredible, actually. I swirled some chocolate sauce on a plate, added the slice of this awesome cake, and dusted it with powdered sugar. My company even asked for the recipe. One note, I did substitute hot water for the coffee, as I had a younger child to please, and he wouldn't have appreciated a mocha taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2002
My family & friends BEG me to make this cake! Absolutely delicious. I add a chocolate glaze/ Easy to make, but it disappears too fast. Thank you Shelly. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2002
Moist and delicious, and a little goes a long way. You can get more than 16 servings out of this cake. It stores well, and remains moist after several days. You won't have to worry about the cake drying out before you can finish it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Syd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Arthur, Texas, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2002
Great Recipe. My 10 year old daughter won 1st place at our County Fair this week, and the cake sold for $120 at the cake auction in the evening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valerie Harlan

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Timonium, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2002
This recipe is definitely a keeper! The recipe was perfect- the cake wasn't too rich and it was just chocolatey enough. It was really easy to make, and the compliments I received were almost as sweet as the cake itself! When I served it, all I did was dust the top with confectioner's sugar, and I served fresh fruit with whipped cream on the side. I will definitely make it again! Soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2002
I have made this several times and it has turned out wonderfully each time. Everyone loves it. Especially good when cold, right from the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2002
I have a dessert business & several clients asked for a chocolate pound cake for the holidays. After experimenting with several cookbooks, I tried Shelley's recipe. What a success. This cake is very moist, rich and has the best chocolate taste. After making the cake 2-3 times, I made a few minor changes. I cream the butter and sugar for 5 minutes (with stand mixer; longer with hand held mixer) and mix 30 seconds after adding each egg. I can adjust the amount of coffee depending on the client, but 2 tsp is perfect. I use a dark 12 cup, 10 inch bundt pan and have to reduce the baking temperature to 300 and bake for 70 minutes. Occasionally, I bake the cake at 285 for 75-80 minutes and it is wonderful--no burning or dry chocolate taste. I usally glaze the cake with one of the satiny chocolate glazes on this site or dust with powdered sugar. It is fun to fill the center of the cake with either whole raspberries or strawberries and serve. I agree with other reviewers that this cake is better the next day or even after refrigerating (wrap really well-the cake will pick up refrigerator odors). It freezes beautifully. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
278 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2003
I made this cake at 9 PM last night and it is almost gone! A real hit with the family. Very moist and the chocolate is not over powering. I made a powdered sugar glaze and drizzled it over the cake while it was still warm. We will make this cake again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 267) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States