Chocolate Pound Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
It was wonderful!!! I used a cup less sugar by accident but it was more than sweet enough. Will make again very soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
If you like a dense chocolate cake this is a great one. Take the cocoa powder up to 1 cup if you really want heavy chocolate flavor. I took this up another notch by using the chocolate ganache recipe for icing. Yes, that seems over the top but you only need a sliver so it can feed a lot of people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lenihan5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
I am not a cake lover but this cake is so delicious! I made it for my sons birthday a year ago, and he has requested it several times since then. I am making it again this year for his 5th birthday. The only thing I did differently was I used a homemade frosting (since it was a birthday cake).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamlin, New York, USA
Living In: Hopewell, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
I have made this cake at least 5 of 6 times because everyone keeps requesting it. It is fabulous!! It does need longer bake time (1 1/2 hours) and I beat the butter and sugar a full 5 minutes before adding the eggs. The coffee enhances the flavor of the chocolate - you cannot discern the coffee at all. My most requested cake.... try it!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ga.Mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Felicia Manocchio
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
I thought the cake was great. It was moist and chocolaty. The only problem was that it got stuck in the mold. but that was probably my fault. i over filled it...and cooked it too long....at a really low temp. even though i greased and floured the tin first. i did add a dusting of powdered sugar as well as chocolate sauce. the chocolate sauce made it too sweet. but everything that went wrong was really my fault and no fault of the recipe itself...and that is why im giving it 5 stars. thanks a bunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Felicia Manocchio

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Boca Raton, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
This cake was decent. The coffee taste was too noticable for me (a non coffee drinker) and I don't believe this cake could hold up on it's own without a frosting or glaze. I tried to use just fruit and confectioner's sugar and it was not great. I actually ended up having to throw away the leftovers that were just sitting in my fridge, untouched. Maybe it just wasn't for me! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HannahluvsRudy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hampton, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
This was a great cake! Very moist. It doesn't have a rich chocolate flavor which is fine because I drizzled some melted chocolate on top which made this a 5 star recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mike Green

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
I am not an expert baker. Actually, this is my first ever cake from scratch! It was more than I had hoped for! I took it to a church dinner and people were raving over it! I went by the recipe exactly as written. Absolutely no problems. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cara Pratt Chute

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2009
Great, no problems with this. I make a 1/2 batch and use a tube pan. I used buttermilk powder (in water) and bulk style dutch cocoa from my local food co-op. It disappears FAST! I start the kitchenaid whipping the wet ingredients while I measure out the dry and flour the pan, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
I made this cake for two birthdays recently, and it got rave reviews at both! I used 1/4 cup espresso instead of the graunulated coffee. Also, the first time I made it, an emergency came up part way through putting the cake together, so I refrigerated the wet batter and mixed everything together hours later. It didn't rise as much, so was even more of a pound cake, but was still delightful! I found it is topped nicely with equal parts whipped cream (real!) and sour cream, with some raspberries. I want to use this for my wedding cake, so will soon be making one to freeze; will write back with a review on how that goes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Campbell River, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 271) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States