Chocolate Pound Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
Very nice chocolatey flavour. This is a dense, almost browney-like cake. I added a couple extra teaspoons of baking powder to try and make it a bit fluffier and it seemed to give a bit extra lift. Next time I might cut the sugar a bit though, 3 cups is a lot! I served it with orange buttercream icing - yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
I bake for my coworkers once a week, and they pronounced this cake the best thing I've ever made. My convection oven runs pretty cold -- I don't think it made it up above 300 degrees the whole time, and I had to leave it in for 90 minutes (covering the top with aluminum foil after about 30 minutes). But the cake wound up with a slight crust on the outside, and perfectly fudge-like on the inside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
YUM! Not what I expected. This cake tastes like a cross between a brownie and a mild chocolate cake. Very dense, but soft crumb. Really, really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SARAHBEAN007
Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tracy
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
This cake was so wonderful. I did substitute sour cream for the buttermilk. It came out super moist this way. Also I did not have instant coffee so I used 1/4 of extra strong coffee that i had sitting in my pot from the day before. Make sure that you beat the butter and eggs until the color turns a pale yellow.(light and fluffy) I also put a glaze on it. 1 can of sweetened condensed milk, 8 baking squares of sweetened chocolate and 1 teaspoon of vanilla. Melt the chocolate squares in the microwave, then add condensed milk and vanilla. Also it make be thick so just add cream or milk 1 tablesppon at a time until you like the consistency. Then pour over cooled cake...This is going to be a recipe I will make over and over! 5 stars anyday! Many compliments
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
This was so incredibly moist! I made this in a bundt pan using bold coffee brewed at home, and when the cake was cooled, I used a white chocolate brandy glaze to drizzle over the top. Everyone loved it and devoured it, even though it was after a large thanksgiving dinner. Will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
This is good. I served it with caramel sauce, whip cream and frozen raspberries. Keeps well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
Very good! Very chocolaty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maggiemae1962

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
Great moist cake - very chocolatey! I made this cake exactly like the recipe and it turned wonderful. - thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Little River, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
This cake was awesome!! It is so moist. I only made two modifications. I added two sticks of butter instead of 1 1/2 and used instant cocoa mix instead of the coffee. That really added a boost to the chocolate flavor. Bravo!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TonyaC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
This is the best chocolate pound cake I have ever tasted! It is very moist and dense, with a good chocolate flavor. I added a simple chocolate glaze icing and used only a splash of coffee in the cake batter. The buttermilk made the cake a tiny bit too tangy for my taste - I may substitute it with heavy cream next time. If you love the idea of a chocolate pound cake but have only found dry recipes, this is the one for you. Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 263) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States