Chocolate Pound Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
This is the best chocolate cake i have ever made. Moist, Rich flavor and amazing consistency to be used with any type of icying such as fondant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
I didn't have any buttermilk, so I used a cup of soy milk instead. I also didn't use coffee - I used some creme de cocoa liquor - about 1/3 cup. It's very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2010
Perhaps it's just a matter of individual palates and taste preferences that explain the wide disparity of ratings and reviews for this recipe. I can only speak for myself and as far I'm concerned this is a less than mediocre cake, even tho' I'm sure it turned out exactly the way it's supposed to. The cake is just mildly chocolate, first of all, and sort of a light milk chocolate in color. When I want a chocolate cake I want CHOCOLATE, not some wimpy facsimile. But that's not the biggest issue I have with this cake, which is that while it's moist enough it's just plain too dense. Compact is more like it, with virtually no crumb to it at all. (Please note that I am very familiar with proper creaming technique) I think the solution might be to cut the butter back to just one cup, but for me, the cake didn't have potential enough to tinker with the recipe. Its saving grace was the chocolate ganache I topped it with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 13, 2010
I'm giving it three stars - for now. I'll try this one again because the taste was so wonderful.... but the bake time given was inadequate, and when I finally did take it out, the whole thing fell while cooling. I followed the recipe precisely, but never did get a clean toothpick and decided after tasting that this must be similar to a tunnel-of-fudge cake, always moist in the very middle. But I was still left with a crusty veneer of cookie on the top, suspended over a 1" layer of air before the cake actually began. (Maybe the coffee needs to be cooled before adding?)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
Amazing with a mint-chocolate ganache
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
The cake turned out really good, I used a little more butter and a little less sugar than the recipe called for and it was great. I only gave it 3 stars because I was really looking for a chocolate pound cake and this cake tastes exactly like a brownie. Good but now what I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
Very nice chocolatey flavour. This is a dense, almost browney-like cake. I added a couple extra teaspoons of baking powder to try and make it a bit fluffier and it seemed to give a bit extra lift. Next time I might cut the sugar a bit though, 3 cups is a lot! I served it with orange buttercream icing - yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
I bake for my coworkers once a week, and they pronounced this cake the best thing I've ever made. My convection oven runs pretty cold -- I don't think it made it up above 300 degrees the whole time, and I had to leave it in for 90 minutes (covering the top with aluminum foil after about 30 minutes). But the cake wound up with a slight crust on the outside, and perfectly fudge-like on the inside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
YUM! Not what I expected. This cake tastes like a cross between a brownie and a mild chocolate cake. Very dense, but soft crumb. Really, really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SARAHBEAN007
Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tracy
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
This cake was so wonderful. I did substitute sour cream for the buttermilk. It came out super moist this way. Also I did not have instant coffee so I used 1/4 of extra strong coffee that i had sitting in my pot from the day before. Make sure that you beat the butter and eggs until the color turns a pale yellow.(light and fluffy) I also put a glaze on it. 1 can of sweetened condensed milk, 8 baking squares of sweetened chocolate and 1 teaspoon of vanilla. Melt the chocolate squares in the microwave, then add condensed milk and vanilla. Also it make be thick so just add cream or milk 1 tablesppon at a time until you like the consistency. Then pour over cooled cake...This is going to be a recipe I will make over and over! 5 stars anyday! Many compliments
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 269) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States