Chocolate Pound Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
Wow, that was the best pound cake I have ever made! We couldn't finish it all and so I froze it for a week. It tasted great frozen with ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
From all the reviews, I was getting ready for an awesome cake. I made seperate ones for a pumpkin cake for my son's birthday party and both came out exactly the same. My guests were not oooing and aweing when they were eating this. I quickly found out why. It has hardly any chocolate taste to it at all. It's dense, but not moist. I was soooooo embarrassed! Why does it have such a high rating? Grrrr....NEVER AGAIN.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
Delicious and rich. I use this for 3D cakes and the consistency and weight is perfect. I get many requests for this chocolate pound cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
Very good chocolate pound cake. I did beat butter for 2 min., then sugar for 5 min. and baked at 300 for 85 min. and it turned out great. I also added a chocolate glaze. Much better with age so prepare the day before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
really good, but not ultimate. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIAM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
Ok, this was a delicious recipe but I was concerned when I read others comments. When I looked over the ingredients I realized that the baking soda was off if you are not using buttermilk because buttermilk has a rising property when used with baking soda. So I increased baking soda to 1 tsp and took salt to 1/4 tsp, which is what my lemon poppyseed pound cake uses. Baked for 55 min. at 350 and the cakes still fell in the middle even though they were done. I think I will use more flour next time, as other recipes with this much wet ingredients uses 3 cups and update. Tasted wonderful and was not dense and I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Griffin, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
This is the best chocolate pound cake ever. I had a recipe for chocolate pound cake from high school umpteen years ago that got lost in a move. I must say this is much better. I made this for my son to take on a long road trip and it barely made it to Florida from East Texas. It has such a rich taste and the texture also was just right. I kept a portion for myself and it stayed moist for about 4 days. Thanks so much for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rjd1247

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Woodville, Texas, USA
Photo by sistalove1999
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
This is my first time baking a cake and I am so glad I chose this recipe! I followed it exact and it is so moist and rich! My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
This is the best chocolate cake i have ever made. Moist, Rich flavor and amazing consistency to be used with any type of icying such as fondant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
I didn't have any buttermilk, so I used a cup of soy milk instead. I also didn't use coffee - I used some creme de cocoa liquor - about 1/3 cup. It's very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 267) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States