Chocolate Pound Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
I was searching for a rich chocolate cake and I am glad that I tried it out. It's a bit chewy, and considering that there's only 3/4 cup of cocoa powder, it's very chocolatey. I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happykk

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
I loved the recipe, but edited it in the following way: 1. Cut the recipe to 8 serves (I have a small bundt pan) 2. Reduced the sugar by 1/3 c (to 230 g) and it was sweet enough 3. Used 2 eggs and 1/2 an egg substitute because I don't prefer an overly eggy flavour 4. Increased cocoa a bit (just a heaped helping) 5. Used CAKE FLOUR - this is essential for pound cakes - it is easy to make at home with flour and corn starch. 6. Baked it at 160 degrees for about 50 mins
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2012
What a wonderful recipe I used to make for my fondant cake. It was dense and supported my 1.5 kg fondant topping well but yet not hard. The chocolate was easy to cut and melts into the mouth. Fantastic tasting after I tailored the recipe a little. I didn't want the coffee granulates and so I followed "What a Dish's" comment by omitting the coffee granulates & hot water and put in 1/4 cup extra buttermilk. Most of my customers also like recipes that are not sweet so i cut down the sugar to 320 gm. To ensure that the cake is dense but not hard, I separated the egg white and egg yolk. I beated the egg white with about 30 gm of sugar. Separately, I beated the egg yolk with 30 gm of sugar. I folded the egg yolk into the butter mixture, then folded the white into the mixture, and finally folding the flour and buttermilk in 2 portions. Cut back on the sugar by 1/2 cup, it was pefectly sweet. I used Ghiradeli's cocoa which added to the great flavor. Frosted with my own white chocolate glaze and had this for Christmas Eve!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
I used this recipe to make a marble pound cake to stack, carve, and cover with fondant. I made the recipe twice in each flavor, for a four-layer 10" square cake and had a little left over for a loaf for the family. For the vanilla part of the cake, I used 2 3/4c. flour. I didn't have buttermilk, so I added 1T. white vinegar to 1c. whole milk. The cake was extremely moist! Next time I would add a little more sugar, as it wasn't quite sweet enough for me, but my family thought it was just the right sweetness. They loved it, and so did the customer I made the cake for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 4callmemommy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
This was very good and moist, I added chocolate satin glaze to the top. Nice depth of flavor. Anna requested this for her birthday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHARITYBOO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
I decided to use an angel food pan as I wanted a more traditional pound cake look. Was glad I did as this recipe would have over filled by bundt pan. The cake is ALL THAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MMPaydirt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
This came out really dense but it was too moist. could have been something I'd done, I'm not sure. It tasted really cocoa-ey too, I most likely will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
I made this last night for our church and this cake was soooo good. I added chocolate chips um um good. Next week this cake will be on the table for Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
This cake was such a hit that I was bombarded by requests for the recipe. I even use it for catering jobs, and every time someone asks for the recipe! Served with a little rum flavored whip cream and raspberries and it is to die for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
I added 1 stick of sweet cream butter, 1/2 tsp baking powder reduced salt 1/2 tsp. All of the cold ingredience were brought to room temperature before using. I baked it for the full 70 minutes let it rest in the pan for 25 minutes and it turned out wonderful! Drizzled with chocolate glaze while it was still warm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 268) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States