Chocolate Pound Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
Excellent cake. I think you could actually use one cup of cocoa if you really want a dark chocolate. I have made this many times, and now throw in a cup of mini-chocolate chips. As is, it's a 5-star recipe, and w/additions it's equally great. Thanks for the posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
I tried baking this recipe today in a loaf pan and was able to produce 4 loaves (7x3") for 55min at 325F however after cooling down, the cake shrank / doesnt look good ...... ive been wondering why despite so many good reviews.... havent tasted it yet, will try it tom :-( No final rating yet until i taste it...... kinda disappointed with how it looks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
This recipe did make a good chocolate pound cake! I followed the recipe exactly except for the instant coffee granules. That is something I never have on hand so I used my instant espresso powder instead and it did give it a rich flavor. I did not use a Bundt pan, but instead used 2 loaf pans. The cake comes out pound-cake dense like it is supposed to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Joyce
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
We chose this recipe for our wedding cake - first try. Fantastic! You really could scarf down the batter itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joyce

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
The taste of this cake is great. I cooked it for 1.5 hours and it came out super moist and delicious. I did increase the cocoa to almost one cup as per the advice of others. However, even though I greased and floured the bundt pan, this cake really stuck to the bottom and I could only get it out in chunks...delicious chunks mind you! If you make it, grease and flour the pan VERY well! The only other reason I gave it only 3 stars was because the batter is incredibly thick...so thick that it was difficult for my mixer to beat without overheating! ...but I only have a hand held mixer. The taste though, is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
I've made this recipe 3 times in the past month with increasingly better results each time. Spending the time to cream the butter and sugar and gradually adding the egg is a critical step. The big difference from the first time is that I used my KitchenAid stand mixer instead of a hand mixer. Makes a world of difference. Here are the other changes I made to the recipe: Replaced 1/2 cup of the butter with 1/2 cup canola oil (adds moisture) Cooked for 1hr 30 min. instead of 1 hr 10 min.(makes it less brownie-like) Added 1/2 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips to the batter at the end (adds more chocolate flavor) Everyone enjoyed it at the holiday celebrations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
This cake turned out very moist and rich. I made it in a 10-inch round cake pan so it was about 3 inches thick and some people said it was too rich...I think they just don't like chocolate enough :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lugoff, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
I was searching for a rich chocolate cake and I am glad that I tried it out. It's a bit chewy, and considering that there's only 3/4 cup of cocoa powder, it's very chocolatey. I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happykk

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
I loved the recipe, but edited it in the following way: 1. Cut the recipe to 8 serves (I have a small bundt pan) 2. Reduced the sugar by 1/3 c (to 230 g) and it was sweet enough 3. Used 2 eggs and 1/2 an egg substitute because I don't prefer an overly eggy flavour 4. Increased cocoa a bit (just a heaped helping) 5. Used CAKE FLOUR - this is essential for pound cakes - it is easy to make at home with flour and corn starch. 6. Baked it at 160 degrees for about 50 mins
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2012
What a wonderful recipe I used to make for my fondant cake. It was dense and supported my 1.5 kg fondant topping well but yet not hard. The chocolate was easy to cut and melts into the mouth. Fantastic tasting after I tailored the recipe a little. I didn't want the coffee granulates and so I followed "What a Dish's" comment by omitting the coffee granulates & hot water and put in 1/4 cup extra buttermilk. Most of my customers also like recipes that are not sweet so i cut down the sugar to 320 gm. To ensure that the cake is dense but not hard, I separated the egg white and egg yolk. I beated the egg white with about 30 gm of sugar. Separately, I beated the egg yolk with 30 gm of sugar. I folded the egg yolk into the butter mixture, then folded the white into the mixture, and finally folding the flour and buttermilk in 2 portions. Cut back on the sugar by 1/2 cup, it was pefectly sweet. I used Ghiradeli's cocoa which added to the great flavor. Frosted with my own white chocolate glaze and had this for Christmas Eve!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 275) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States