Chocolate Pound Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: May 14, 2009
Good...softer crumb/texture than I expected for a "Pound Cake." But that didn't stop everyone from eating it and really enjoying it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2009
Absolutely wonderful. Wasn't a crumb left after dinner. Easy. Moist, dense great chocolate taste. I used special dark cocao, made sure the eggs and butter were room temp. Beat the sugar and butter until very light and fluffy then added the eggs one at a time and beat well into the dough. I also used a quarter cup of brewed espresso. Well greased and floured the pan and it came out like a charm. Only thing was that it was almost too much. My bundt pan was just a hair from overflowing. Also it fell a very tiny bit when a friend poked the top to test for doneness. Excellent recipe and one I will make over and over if my family's reaction was any indication.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
Absolutely delicious! Everyone loved it. So very moist and chocolaty. I used dutch processed cocoa and 1/4 c coffee rather than water and grounds. I baked it in little individual molds for about 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kilgore, Texas, USA
Living In: Zimmerman, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
Oh yum... I made this for Valentine's day and neither my husband or I could stop eating it!! I made a pink glaze for it and it was very pretty. Much better if it can fully cool, so make it in the morning if you plan on serving at night. Freezes really well too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2009
Now this is one of the best pound cakes that I have ever made and or eaten. It is rich, and extremely and I mean extremely good. Although a bit time consuming it is easy to make, and baked in my oven at exactly 60 minutes. I did however make a few changes such as, cake flour instead of all purpose flour, and instead of dusting with confectioners' sugar I applied a to kill for chocolate glaze. Well anyway thanks for the recipe, and I'll definitely be making this one again. Till next time, peace!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
Excellent! I have made this 2 times now. Everyone loves it! I made the recipe as stated. I must say you need to grease the pan with Crisco. I greased it the first time with butter and it really stuck. With Crisco, it came out great. I also made a mixture of 1/3 cocoa and 2/3 flour to dust it with. Came out beautifully. I drizzled a satiny chocolate glaze (found on this site) on top
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
don't overbake. true that when it's warm, it resembles the pudding-texture of lava cake. yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
This was delicious. I used this recipe to make a shaped birthday cake for my son. The pan only took 5 cups of batter, so I made mini bundt type cakes with the rest. It was very moist and kept well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
Wow!!!!! Very moist. I made this pound cake with no ingredient changes. I did how ever bake it at 285 degrees for about 1 hour and 30-40 minutes. I added 10 mins at a time after it baked the first 1 hour and 20 mins. and I kept checking for doneness. Well worth the effort and wait. Absolutely no burnt chocolate taste or bitterness from over cooked chocolate. I had many request for this cake and was asked to make one for my husband's small town cake auction for a local charity. You've got to try this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamaMaria

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Quincy, Florida, USA
Living In: Alachua, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
I was worried at first because it seemed a bit greasy out of the pan, but I let it cool, wrapped it up and kept it for the next day. When I cut into it 24 hours later it was moist and rich and delicious. Half of it went into a chocolate cherry trifle and the other half was thoroughly enjoyed all by itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 263) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States