Chocolate Pound Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2009
Great, no problems with this. I make a 1/2 batch and use a tube pan. I used buttermilk powder (in water) and bulk style dutch cocoa from my local food co-op. It disappears FAST! I start the kitchenaid whipping the wet ingredients while I measure out the dry and flour the pan, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
I made this cake for two birthdays recently, and it got rave reviews at both! I used 1/4 cup espresso instead of the graunulated coffee. Also, the first time I made it, an emergency came up part way through putting the cake together, so I refrigerated the wet batter and mixed everything together hours later. It didn't rise as much, so was even more of a pound cake, but was still delightful! I found it is topped nicely with equal parts whipped cream (real!) and sour cream, with some raspberries. I want to use this for my wedding cake, so will soon be making one to freeze; will write back with a review on how that goes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Campbell River, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
I liked this cake & had fun making it. It is more dense than I expected for a pound cake. Greased pan with Crisco and floured with cocoa powder - no issues coming out of pan. After 60 min toothpick was not clean. Gave 10 more min & pick was clean, however there was a fudgy layer running thru near the top. Maybe it needed a bit more time?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Crosse, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
I made mini bundt cakes as seen in the picture. They took about 25 minutes to bake and were very moist and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holt, Michigan, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2009
I am a novice cake maker and have no explanation for why this cake tasted bad and not like a pound cake, fell in the oven, and completely broke apart coming out of the pan. Extremely disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2009
This cake is wonderful. The only change I made was to substitute 4 oz. melted baker's chocolate for the coffee (I don't like the flavor of coffee in my chocolate cakes). Please note that the flavor and texture of this cake changes (for the better) overnight, so plan on making this a day before it is actually needed. I only gave it four stars because the texture of the cake, while moist and great, is not what I would consider the texture of a true pound cake to be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimz11

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
I put the satiny chocolate glaze on this cake it's sooooooo good. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
Halved the recipe with your calculator and baked it in an old 9-inch tube pan. I used a smaller amount of fructose instead of sugar and spelt flour as my husband cannot eat wheat. Yummy, buttery flavor. Just what I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2009
I was really excited about this cake. I even added 1/2 cup chocolate chips and a few TBSP cherry pie filling. It stuck to my Bundt pan terribly!! I spend a lot of time and money on this recipe and am very disappointed. I took the advise of even trying to use Crisco to grease the pan and it still stuck:( I'm glad I was only experimenting and not planning on presenting it. The whole top was demolished. I wish the recipe included how to not make it stick. Butter and flour simply doesn't cut it. Taste is okay, but for me presentation plays a significant role.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MsMary
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2009
This cake was very good. I used it for my son's first birthday cake. I needed something firm for a 3-D cake pan and this worked out perfectly. It tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leisl Kern

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 273) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States