Chocolate Popcorn Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2010
I decided to give this recipe a try after loving the caramel popcorn one. I popped my own popcorn in a pot. After reading some reviews about the popcorn being too greasy, I cut the butter to 1/4 cup. I used 1/2 cup of granulated sugar and 1/4 cup of light brown sugar. Melted the butter first (that makes it easier to incorporate the cocoa powder) and then add the corn syrup, cocoa, and I added 1/2 teaspoon of salt. After letting it boil for 2 minutes, I took it off the heat, and stirred in the vanilla and added 1/2 teaspoon of baking soda. The mixture starts to foam after adding the baking soda; I immediately poured over popcorn and baked for 1 hour stirring every 15 minutes. The popcorn was not greasy whatsoever. One tip: it tastes better the day after you make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
This is pretty good. I will definitly make it again. I just used 2 bags of microwave popcorn and that worked perfect. Next time id like to use brown sugar, maybe a tiny bit of salt and possibly baking soda. I have a great recipe for caramel popcorn and i think adding the cocoa powder might be nice. I used dark cocoa powder which made this look like tar lol. This will be fun for holloween. I suggest using a sheet pan line with parchment paper instead of 9x13 cake pan. This helps with the unwanted extra oil and also helps dry out popcorn and crisp up more evenly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by darthotto

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
This is a great recipe.So easy.My guy's loved it!Thanks for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fable37

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
here's a huge tip: do not use microwave popcorn or it will be too oily and rich. air pop the correct amount, follow the directions, although you must stir it around while it's cooling or it will all stick together, and you will have a wonderful treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2009
Very Tasty, but sweet, next time I might try adding a little less sugar. I used olive oil in place of the butter and it was still yummy. For a little variety I may use peanut butter or brown sugar next time. All in all this was delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sanzoe
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2008
What a wonderful flavor combination!!! I did leave out the peanuts this time but next time I think I will toss it with marshmallow and peanuts when it comes out of the oven for a rocky road twist. This will replace my regular popcorn and nestle crunch bar ritual!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sanzoe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Excelsior, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
Crisp, chocolately, and even visually appealing. Excellent! Perfect for Christmas gifts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Momi
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2008
The flavor of the popcorn is very good, but it is very greasy and too rich to eat very much of.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Adak, Alaska, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2013
This was really delicious! My only reason for 4 stars is because I felt it needed more coating. I did sprinkle some salt as it cooked too... :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci-in-Cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Photo by Shearone
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
I popped 1/2 cup of popcorn in my microwave corn popper. The chocolate mixture should be stirred while it is cooking for two minutes or it may scorch. If you want a more chocolate coating, the ingredients are easily doubled. I sprayed the baking pan with oil. The popcorn will not be crisp until it has cooled. Also, I sprinkled sea salt before removing from pan. Makes a nice gift when packaged. Will make this again & again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge

See how to make simple old-fashioned chocolate fudge.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States