Chocolate Popcorn Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
I've made this twice now and we like it a lot. It's almost as addicting as caramel corn and nice for something different. It's also good mixed 50/50 in a bowl with caramel corn. As for the recipe, the only thing I might do differently is reduce the baking time or use chocolate chips instead of cocoa powder. The coating had a taste that I can't quite put my finger on that was slightly off, like it was 'almost' burnt, but I'm not sure. It either has to do with the cocoa powder or the baking time I think. Be sure to toss the mixture as it's baking ~ this time I didn't do that and a good amount of the chocolate mixture melted down and stayed on the bottom of the pan. Tip; if your popcorn is fresh, a 1/4 cup of kernels should yield 2 quarts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
good recipe, but double the sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by notasardine
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
I used 2 bags of microwave popcorn as someone else suggested but found it to be way to much. I had to double the coating and it was still barely enough to cover the popcorn. I also used cashews instead of peanuts. Next time I will add more cocoa and maybe use brown sugar or add some maple flavoring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2010
I decided to give this recipe a try after loving the caramel popcorn one. I popped my own popcorn in a pot. After reading some reviews about the popcorn being too greasy, I cut the butter to 1/4 cup. I used 1/2 cup of granulated sugar and 1/4 cup of light brown sugar. Melted the butter first (that makes it easier to incorporate the cocoa powder) and then add the corn syrup, cocoa, and I added 1/2 teaspoon of salt. After letting it boil for 2 minutes, I took it off the heat, and stirred in the vanilla and added 1/2 teaspoon of baking soda. The mixture starts to foam after adding the baking soda; I immediately poured over popcorn and baked for 1 hour stirring every 15 minutes. The popcorn was not greasy whatsoever. One tip: it tastes better the day after you make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
This popcorn is so yummy! My husband and kids love it. Very crispy and chocolately and delicious! We make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2010
Turned out awesome!!!! It was chocolately, crisp and I got a lot of compliments! Will make again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2010
I made it slightly more healthy by using one cup of honey in place of the sugar and corn syrup. I still prefer caramel corn, but I think it would be great to mix the two kinds together!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tricia Winterle Jaeger
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
I made this the same time I made caramel popcorn so instict should've told me to bake it for an hour but I like to follow a recipe. Anyway, it was too chewy. So having them side by side the caramel was the clear favorite and since they are the same amount of work we'll just stick with caramel. I'm glad to have tried the recipe though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricia Winterle Jaeger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sasebo, Nagasaki, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
This was good. I think it would taste better with less cocoa. The chocolate was a little strong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
here's a huge tip: do not use microwave popcorn or it will be too oily and rich. air pop the correct amount, follow the directions, although you must stir it around while it's cooling or it will all stick together, and you will have a wonderful treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge

See how to make simple old-fashioned chocolate fudge.

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States