Chocolate Plum Pudding Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2000
Wow!!!! This is an incredibly moist, wonderful, chocolate cake! The spices, chocolate, and raisins work beautifully together. Don't wait for Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ridgecrest, California, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2001
Amazing!!A delicious moist cake...great for any occasions!!Excellent with a nice cup of tea!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2002
Delicious! I made this for a meeting and it was a hit! I will definitely make this again next Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2003
Fabulous Cake! It was absolutely wonderful. The only thing I won't do next time is flour the pan - with the generous amount of non-stick cooking spray I used, it wasn't necessary. Definitely a place in my home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANNIEWIL

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2010
I was looking for a recipe here to use up some plums I had, I found this and thought it sounded very good except it didn't use plums! I wanted to try it anyway and so what I did was pureed the plums I had and used that instead of the applesauce. The other things I did different was I used 2/3 part white flour and 1/3 part whole wheat rather than 50/50, I did add 1 t. vanilla and baked it in a bundt pan, rather than flour the pan I sprayed it good then dusted it with a little sugar/cinnamon (about 2 t.) this gives it a nice little crust. It did not need to bake as long in the bundt pan so I kept a close eye on it. A very good moist cake that is a bit healthier than some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
This was a great Christmas cake. I followed the recipe exactly, and we heated some rum, poured it on, and set it in fire! Very festive, and delicious as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2003
This consistently gets rave reviews, even from people who would turn their nose up at any kind of fruitcake. It has a great taste and a nice texture, without being tough. I've served it with Creme Anglaise, and I've also soaked it in liquor and brought it to the table aflame in Christmas pudding tradition! I usually use a mixture of golden and purple raisins, and I substitute pecans for the walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENSPIN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2003
An absolutely wonderful 'adult' cake - not gooey enough for the little ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States