Chocolate Pinwheels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2003
These cookies have a very good flavor and are not too sweet. The dough is pretty easy to work with as well. I have been looking for a chocolate pinwheel cookie recipe that calls for cocoa instead of chocolate chips or baking chocolate, both of which are expensive and difficult to find where I live. Since I couldn't find one I adapted this recipe and it turned out great! I mixed the wet ingredients and then divided the mixture in half and added half the dry ingredients less two tablespoons of flour along with 2 tablespoons cocoa to one half of the wet ingredients and the rest of the dry ingredients to the other half of the wet ingredients. I will definately make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2005
Really good. I made a double batch, so I just made the recipe twice: one chocolate (2 squares chocolate), one vanilla. I chilled the rolled dough-log overnight. Since I only had unsweetened chocolate, they weren't too sweet, so I sprinkled some white decorator sugar on them before baking. I had 48 1/4"thick, 2-1/2"diameter cookies, baked for 8 minutes. I will make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RueBarbe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2007
these cookies looked perfect, and tasted as good as they looked! i did bake one batch a few minutes longer than recommended, until the 'vanilla' part started to brown, and the chocolate flavour came out better. i'd definitely be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by theresa in london

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Ruislip, Greater London, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
I found this recipe very simple and the cookies turned out great. I didn't use chocolate in the recipe, but rather red and green food coloring for Christmas cookies as another rater suggested. Thanks for the recipe. Will be using again soon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by danasweets

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gorham, Maine, USA
Living In: Loma Linda, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
Great recipe, really easy to make.. made them for my husband's boss for christmas.. had to make more because we were eating them all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
I made these cookies, for the first time, this Christmas. My family raved about it even though I had made 4 other types ... these were their favorite. I used powdered unsweetened chocolate, approx 4-5 tablespoons and 4-5 teaspoons of white sugar, instead of squares. I took a members advice and rolled the dough out between 2 pieces of parchment paper. No need for a floured work table and floor getting dusted. To prevent slippage, I held the ends of the paper down with one palm and rolled a wooden rolling pin down the length of the paper. After a few attempts, the dough softened and I got the knack of it. I kept the paper on the bottom to transfer it and flip it onto the other rolled dough. Easy, neat and hygienic. Rolling was sushi-style. I used the cutaway edges to briefly mix the 2 doughs together, into a ball then partially flatten. This made a marblized design. I will be making these, again, for Easter, using pastel colors and different flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
These cookies were perfect, I loved them! The dough was just as good (or even better!) than the baked cookie. Looked awesome as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RangerZ

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
Good and simple cookies? I followed the ingredients exactly, but made my cookies into checkerboards. I made just over 5 dozen cookies. They were not big cookies and I cut them very thin. Overall , they looked adorable and tasted good, not too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by I love baking!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Round Lake Beach, Illinois, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
The dough starts out quite crumbly, but you just have to squish it around a little and it becomes the perfect consistency. My pinwheels turned out perfect - they look super pro! I added some orange zest to the white dough for a great flavour combination. Next time I think I'll double the chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
Absolutely wonderful cookie. Quick to mix, rolled them, froze the dough and cooked them the next day. I rolled them between pieces of plastic wrap (no parchment paper on hand) and they rolled out PERFECTLY even without extra flour and didn't need to brush milk on - I forgot that step and they were fine. Since chocolate wasn't on hand I used cocoa and a bit of extra sugar as reviewers suggested. Definitely will double the recipe next time I make a batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Crinkles II

See how to make chocolate cookies coated in confectioners' sugar.

How to Make Chocolate Macarons

See how to make little meringue sandwiches with a ganache filling.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States