Chocolate Pinwheels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
I used baking cocoa instead of the chocolate chips. As a result, I also added more vanilla (up to 1/2 tsp) to the chocolate half of the dough. These are fun and cute. Great addition to my Christmas cookie gifts both in flavor and appearance; these cookies made them look even more festive. Several possibilities, too. I made the swirly version. Look forward to trying the half/half look, and I have grand ideas for things like a yin/yang version, too! I bet you could (with patience) manage quarters, sixths or eighths, as opposed to the half/half. That would require solid chilling, and careful division & re-joining of rolls. Ooh, and how irresistible would they be if the white half were green & minty?!?!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Roscoe, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
I'm sitting here eating this cookie while I type.I used Hersey's cocoa powder for the unsweetened chocolate.The measurements are on the can. It just might be that semi-sweetened would be better. Here's the amounts for equal to 1 ounce of semi-sweet. 1 Tablespoon cocoa powder, 2 tsp shortening + 3 1/2 tsps sugar.I didn't bother with wax paper or a rolling pin, I just flattened the dough on a floured board,brushed on the milk and add the layer and rolled it up.On the down side no one even mentioned that 5 minutes in a oven is never enough time to bake a cookie, mine stayed in for 9-12 minutes.Also I added 1 tsp lemon juice & 1/2 tsp almond flavor, so mine tasted ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Gold Canyon, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
I have to make this chocolate cookie for my kids every Christmas. Have had great success with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sleslie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
Absolutely wonderful cookie. Quick to mix, rolled them, froze the dough and cooked them the next day. I rolled them between pieces of plastic wrap (no parchment paper on hand) and they rolled out PERFECTLY even without extra flour and didn't need to brush milk on - I forgot that step and they were fine. Since chocolate wasn't on hand I used cocoa and a bit of extra sugar as reviewers suggested. Definitely will double the recipe next time I make a batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
Look soo cool, and like they would be alot of work , but they were prutty simple and fast to make .. the resutl was YUMMMY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinkskull1013

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kincardine, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
The dough starts out quite crumbly, but you just have to squish it around a little and it becomes the perfect consistency. My pinwheels turned out perfect - they look super pro! I added some orange zest to the white dough for a great flavour combination. Next time I think I'll double the chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
Good and simple cookies? I followed the ingredients exactly, but made my cookies into checkerboards. I made just over 5 dozen cookies. They were not big cookies and I cut them very thin. Overall , they looked adorable and tasted good, not too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by I love baking!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Round Lake Beach, Illinois, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
easy and quick.I like the taste.But rolling it was a problem.You have to be very carefull with the Dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
These were very tasteless! When rolled out and rolling up into log the dough kept cracking as well. I won't be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaymie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
I was a little disappointed in this recipe. I followed the recipe to a T and found the dough to be un-rollable. I added additional flour to roll it and still no luck. The dough itself is good, so I just took a little off of the chocolate mix and then a little off of the regular mix and rolled them together in my hand. They taste pretty good as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheMadBaker313

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Crinkles II

See how to make chocolate cookies coated in confectioners' sugar.

How to Make Chocolate Macarons

See how to make little meringue sandwiches with a ganache filling.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States