Chocolate Pinwheel Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
I love these cookies. I used 3 tbsp of cocoa powder instead of the chocolate square to make the chocolate half of the dough. I got 24 good looking cookies but also 6 not nice looking ones because they were the ones cut from the ends of my roll - so that was expected. These cookies are very impressive looking and have a light chocolate flavor to them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
Great cookies. I followed the advice of others and used a whole egg, ommitted the milk and used 3 tbsp of cocoa instead. I didn't chill the dough before rolling, which made it easier to work with. I did chill it after I rolled them though. They turned out great!! I got 4 dozen cookies out of one roll.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
Requires patience. They are in the oven now and look just like the picture. I used a rolling mat to roll out the best rectangle I could. Then I flipped it onto a 8x13 pan. I did the same with the second ball of dough and flipped it onto the other. I trimmed the edges square and rolled it up longways in the pan. I did double the recipe and ended up with 45 cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spicegirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2000
These cookies are a lot of fun to look at and are worth making just because they are so novel. They have a nice taste that's not overly-sweet. I sliced the dough very thin and I only got 2 dozen cookies out of it instead of the suggested 4-6 dozen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2001
Ithought this recipe was great. I reworked it a little and added some 2 tablespoons of cocoa powder to the chocolate half and rooled out each half to 8x5 instead and I got nice sized cookies that were uniformed. I also agree with the other reviewer, i sliced thinly and got about 2 1/2 dz. Great recipe overall and weell worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
This recipe is so amazing, and simple to do when not making the pinwheel shape. After baking these are usually gone soon, thanks to my family and friends. They hold their shape very well, thanks to the shortening, so I found chilling unnecessary. Only thing I'd recommend is using less salt, as sometimes the salty taste is too noticable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
I have been trying to make chocolate pinwheel cookies successfully for years with no avail. I came across this last Christmas, tried it and couldn't believe how beutiful the cookies came out. they where so easy to make, ketpt there shape, easy to roll,cut and tasted good. I hope this year I have the same luck. I will let you know. Bernie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bernie Theus

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hilliard, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
Good recipe but if you want to make them extra yummy, add crushed candy canes and peppermint extract to the sugar cookie half and finely chopped chocolate to the chocolate half. This will intensify the chocolate flavor and add an extra peppermint spin to this already fabulous cookie!! You don't want big chunks of peppermint or chocolate because it will make your job more difficult when slicing the log of dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
An interesting adventure for a bored baker. I had fun with these cookies but they are time consuming. In the end, they turned out perfectly. Very delicious; soft, chewy and tasty. I made a few changes but kind of charted my own course. I added 3 tbsp of hot chocolate powder with the melted chocolate to the chocolate dough. I also used butter and let them chill for a few hours. It made them just sweet enough. I got about 50 cookies, though some fairly small. I'll tuck this one away for a rainy day. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
My BF remembers these cookies from his childhood, so we tried this recipe. We've made them a few times now and have implemented a couple changes. As written, they aren't sweet enough, we increase the sugar to 3/4c; also use butter instead of shortening. The result is exactly what he wanted. Yes, time consuming and a bit of work, but worth it. Make sure you chill the dough properly or it will be too soft to work with: I chill dough balls for 1.5 hrs, roll them out using wax paper on top and bottom, then place choc layer on top of white, make the jelly-roll, and then chill the roll wrapped in wax paper for 3 hrs. Unwrap and the cold dough slices perfectly with a sharp knife. Double or triple the recipe and freeze the extra cookies so you don't have to go through the work every time you want these, thats what we do. Works great. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Chocolate Mint Candies Cookies

Bake your favorite thin chocolate mints into these melt-in-your-mouth cookies.

Jumbo Dark Chocolate Cookies

These dark chocolate cookies will double your chocolate delight.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States