Chocolate Pinwheel Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
I heeded advice given in the reviews and then added my own twist...here's my rendition: Make TWO batches of the recipe listed, using one whole egg and leave out the milk. I also substituted butter for shortening and used 3/4 c. sugar instead of the 1/2 c. listed. For the 2nd batch (chocolate), I used 4 Tablespoons of powdered (unsweetened) cocoa instead of the chocolate square. I baked them at 350 for 8 minutes -at a higher temp they'll be a bit too crispy. Letting the dough refrigerate long enough is important, otherwise the chocolate will bleed into the vanilla. Making the recipe this way, I yielded 4 dozen cookies (enough cookies to make this recipe worth while - as it takes time to refrigerate the dought twice)! I gave this recipe 4 starts because this is a good "solid cookie" - it has it's own very cool look and it's tasty. The downfall of the recipe is the prep time to refrigertate the dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foose1965

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Living In: Puyallup, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2008
I read through previous reviews on this recipe before making it, and I decided to make a few alterations. I used butter instead of shortening, one cup of sugar instead of 3/4, and a whole egg and no milk in the batter. Also, I used 2 tablespoons of cocoa powder instead of the chocolate square and milk when making the chocolate dough. The end result was amazing! Although time consuming because of chilling the dough, these were a lot of fun to make and I was very proud of what I ended up with. Friends and family all found them delicious--nice and sweet with a bit of chocolate =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
I wasn't wild about these cookies. They were good, just not great. Maybe I didn't refrigerate the dough long enough to allow the ingredients to meld together properly, but I thought the salt in the dough was a little too noticable. However, my co-workers that tried them all seemed to like them, so maybe it's just me. The look of the cookies is beautiful, but the taste was a bit lacking for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bake-ette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
I love these cookies. I used 3 tbsp of cocoa powder instead of the chocolate square to make the chocolate half of the dough. I got 24 good looking cookies but also 6 not nice looking ones because they were the ones cut from the ends of my roll - so that was expected. These cookies are very impressive looking and have a light chocolate flavor to them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2007
The cookies were ok but one side of the pan of cookies cooked faster than the other so half of them got burnt. They were also kind of hard to roll out. I may try them again to see if I can get them right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladyofshallot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2007
good not 100% great though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2005
These were an absolute disaster! The different doughs ran together and mixed. The cookies, once I finally got them sliced, baked up crispy. They didn't have much taste to them either. They might be better if you had time to play around with the recipe some, and find the right technique for slicing those things. Maybe it was just me...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2004
I used a whole egg and no milk for this; I also added 1 Tbs. cocoa powder to one half instead of the melted chocolate, and it turned out fine. I had difficulty rolling out the dough, even on waxed paper. It just wouldn't get any bigger than about 8 in., so I just left it at that. I also only got 2 dozen cookies; there is no way you can get more than this. There simply is not enough dough. Anyway, nice cookie, pretty to look at. I might add a touch more sugar next time asd it wasn't very sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2003
Thank you for sharing the recipe but I'm just not sure if this recipe is for me. I'm not sure how old the shortening I used was - so that might have contributed to the texture problem I had. I wish I would have added the cocoa powder to the chocolate dough as one of the reviewers wrote too. To me, it just needed a little more flavoring. I cut thin slices and only got ~2 dozen cookies. Cooking time was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer : )

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison Heights, Michigan, USA
Living In: Frisco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2001
Ithought this recipe was great. I reworked it a little and added some 2 tablespoons of cocoa powder to the chocolate half and rooled out each half to 8x5 instead and I got nice sized cookies that were uniformed. I also agree with the other reviewer, i sliced thinly and got about 2 1/2 dz. Great recipe overall and weell worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Chocolate Mint Candies Cookies

Bake your favorite thin chocolate mints into these melt-in-your-mouth cookies.

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States