Chocolate Pinwheel Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2008
I read through previous reviews on this recipe before making it, and I decided to make a few alterations. I used butter instead of shortening, one cup of sugar instead of 3/4, and a whole egg and no milk in the batter. Also, I used 2 tablespoons of cocoa powder instead of the chocolate square and milk when making the chocolate dough. The end result was amazing! Although time consuming because of chilling the dough, these were a lot of fun to make and I was very proud of what I ended up with. Friends and family all found them delicious--nice and sweet with a bit of chocolate =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
I love these cookies. I used 3 tbsp of cocoa powder instead of the chocolate square to make the chocolate half of the dough. I got 24 good looking cookies but also 6 not nice looking ones because they were the ones cut from the ends of my roll - so that was expected. These cookies are very impressive looking and have a light chocolate flavor to them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2001
Ithought this recipe was great. I reworked it a little and added some 2 tablespoons of cocoa powder to the chocolate half and rooled out each half to 8x5 instead and I got nice sized cookies that were uniformed. I also agree with the other reviewer, i sliced thinly and got about 2 1/2 dz. Great recipe overall and weell worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
I heeded advice given in the reviews and then added my own twist...here's my rendition: Make TWO batches of the recipe listed, using one whole egg and leave out the milk. I also substituted butter for shortening and used 3/4 c. sugar instead of the 1/2 c. listed. For the 2nd batch (chocolate), I used 4 Tablespoons of powdered (unsweetened) cocoa instead of the chocolate square. I baked them at 350 for 8 minutes -at a higher temp they'll be a bit too crispy. Letting the dough refrigerate long enough is important, otherwise the chocolate will bleed into the vanilla. Making the recipe this way, I yielded 4 dozen cookies (enough cookies to make this recipe worth while - as it takes time to refrigerate the dought twice)! I gave this recipe 4 starts because this is a good "solid cookie" - it has it's own very cool look and it's tasty. The downfall of the recipe is the prep time to refrigertate the dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foose1965

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Living In: Puyallup, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2000
These cookies are a lot of fun to look at and are worth making just because they are so novel. They have a nice taste that's not overly-sweet. I sliced the dough very thin and I only got 2 dozen cookies out of it instead of the suggested 4-6 dozen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2004
I used a whole egg and no milk for this; I also added 1 Tbs. cocoa powder to one half instead of the melted chocolate, and it turned out fine. I had difficulty rolling out the dough, even on waxed paper. It just wouldn't get any bigger than about 8 in., so I just left it at that. I also only got 2 dozen cookies; there is no way you can get more than this. There simply is not enough dough. Anyway, nice cookie, pretty to look at. I might add a touch more sugar next time asd it wasn't very sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
YUM~I followed the advice of other reviewers and used butter, omitted the milk, used 3 Tbsp of cocoa. Really good taste. I chilled the the dough too long though and had to warm it up to get it to roll.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
Pinwheel my backside! These were a nightmare. The dough was impossible to work with! I used a ton of powdered sugar to roll it out, it still stuck everywhere, and thank Goodness I used sugar and not flour to roll it! The chocolate dough was bitter and the vanilla dough was bland. The ONLY reason I'm giving this three stars is because my 1 year old can't get enough of these cookies. Everybody over 1 thinks they stink. I ended up globbing together the two doughs and rolling 'em into tie-dye balls, which my 6 year old thought looked awesome, till he tasted them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MomZilla (Evin)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
My BF remembers these cookies from his childhood, so we tried this recipe. We've made them a few times now and have implemented a couple changes. As written, they aren't sweet enough, we increase the sugar to 3/4c; also use butter instead of shortening. The result is exactly what he wanted. Yes, time consuming and a bit of work, but worth it. Make sure you chill the dough properly or it will be too soft to work with: I chill dough balls for 1.5 hrs, roll them out using wax paper on top and bottom, then place choc layer on top of white, make the jelly-roll, and then chill the roll wrapped in wax paper for 3 hrs. Unwrap and the cold dough slices perfectly with a sharp knife. Double or triple the recipe and freeze the extra cookies so you don't have to go through the work every time you want these, thats what we do. Works great. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2005
These were an absolute disaster! The different doughs ran together and mixed. The cookies, once I finally got them sliced, baked up crispy. They didn't have much taste to them either. They might be better if you had time to play around with the recipe some, and find the right technique for slicing those things. Maybe it was just me...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States