Chocolate Pinwheel Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
I'm giving this 2 stars only because the flavor was good. Rolling out the dough was difficult. The vanilla seem ok but the chocolate was to dry. I followed the recipe exactly. When I tried to slice the cookies they crumbled apart. I salvaged the cookie by placing mounds of crumbled dough on sheet and pressing it down with a glass. They looked strange but tasted good. I am looking for a different pinwheel recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carmichaels, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri McConville

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
This recipe is so amazing, and simple to do when not making the pinwheel shape. After baking these are usually gone soon, thanks to my family and friends. They hold their shape very well, thanks to the shortening, so I found chilling unnecessary. Only thing I'd recommend is using less salt, as sometimes the salty taste is too noticable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
These cookies came out looking beautiful. They had a fairly bland taste tho, and the chocolate was weak as well. I could have taken the weak vanilla, if the choc was standout.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
i used a little bit more of sugar, cocoa powder instead of melted chocolate, use butter and no milk... they tasted good but i didnt cream the sugar with the butter so they came out i little bit crunchy. at the end my husband and my daughter love it so its ok
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
I have been wanting to try and make these cookies for a long time. My grandma, who died in 1991 would bring these cookies to our family picnics when I was small. She would pack them in an "Old Dutch" chip box all stacked up inside. They were heavenly, and when I made these, it brought back a lot of good memories. I miss Grandma though. Thanks for the recipe! I would have given it five stars, but I can't betray my grandmother.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Red Deer, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
YUM~I followed the advice of other reviewers and used butter, omitted the milk, used 3 Tbsp of cocoa. Really good taste. I chilled the the dough too long though and had to warm it up to get it to roll.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Karen
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
After reading many of the reviews on this recipe, I also altered it a little. I made a double batch, and I used butter instead of shortening, 1.5 cups of sugar (total for the double batch), and also used the whole eggs. Lastly, I added 3-4 tbsp of unsweetened cocoa powder to the chocolate half of the dough and omitted the milk. I also took the advice of another reviewer and baked them at 350 degrees for 8 minutes, which was perfect! They came out very pretty (with the exception of a few "uglies" from the ends of the roll), but they just tasted okay for the effort. One bit of advice I can give: it is VERY important for the dough to be chilled well for rolling, and also for slicing. I chilled it the first time for about 4 hours, made the roll, and let that sit overnight. Even once you start handling the roll of cookie dough and it sits at room temp for a while, slicing gets to be a bit difficult. So, I would slice a few, put them in the oven, and stick the dough back in the fridge in the mean time. All in all, they were pretty good. They don't taste bad, but just not nearly as good as I hoped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
When I made these cookies they turned out beautiful, but the taste was not what I expected. I think the recipe should have use more sugar as the cookies were really bland and had more of a cake-like texture than a cookie type texture. The cake part really isn't that bad but they should definately be sweeter and I do plan on making the recipe again. Next time I'm going to add an extra cup of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DebbyCake2537

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
I've only made one batch so far and i need to make so i may try the whole egg. I ended up using double the milk and the cocoa powder. Also i made a double batch and ended up with 7 dozen cookies. Delicious chocolate taste and very pretty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States