Chocolate Pinwheel Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
There is a mistake in this recipe! It should be 2 teaspoons (tsp) of baking powder, not tablespoons. Maybe that is why some people have complained about the texture of the cake... I make this cake for my mom's birthday every year - it's been her favorite cake since she was a kid. The dark chocolate swirls are a nice contrast to the sweet, fluffy chocolate filling. It is best served cold, and we think it gets even better a day or two after it is made. To answer another reviewer's question, yes, it should read 1 1/4 cups evaporated milk in the cake itself and another 1/4 cup evaporated milk in the filling. I buy a regular 12oz can of evaporated milk, measure out 1/4 cup milk for the filling, then dump the rest of the can into the cake batter. I have measured it, though, and it ends up being just about 1 1/4 cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
This has also been a favorite in our family. But we lost the recipe from the original chocolate wrapper. I've made the cake before from a hand-me-down hand-written recipe with uneven success. The issue is the quantity of two ingredients. Specifically, is it really 2 TABLESPOONS of baking powder? Or 2 teaspoons? 2TBS sounds like too much. Also, I understood that the total evaporated milk was 1 1/4 cups, divided between the cake (1 cup) and the filling (1/4). Please confirm that it is really 1 1/4 cups of evaporated milk in the flour mix; and another 1/4 cup later in the filling. My concern is that with the ingredients as now listed the cake mix will be too wet (that extra 1/4 evaporated milk) and might rise so high (2 TBSP baking powder) as to flop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2008
This cake has been our family favorite since my Mom started making it 40 years ago. Now my Dad, my sister, my daughter and I all make it for special occasions. The little chips of unsweetened chocolate balance the fluffy shortening filling beautifully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2005
Something is wrong with this recipe. My grandmother use to make this cake. It was a favorite. I didn't have her original recipe, so I looked on the internet to make it. I made this recipe, but made it with butter instead of shortening. It was a flop. It raised then, fell in the center. It was dry, not moist like I remember my grandmother's. Also, it fell apart when I tried to cut the layers. This recipe calls for two tablespoons of baking powder. I think this is part of the problem. I'm wondering if anybody else has had a similar experience with this recipe. Also, my grandmother didn't make the filling like this recipe called for. I know that she changed it. She would whip cream, add cocoa powder, vanilla and sugar. I'm not sure if she added fine granulated sugar or confectioners sugar. I am still trying to perfect this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2005
Wow, this cake is for real chocolate lovers. Very chocolatey! It has a fine old-fashioned texture (not greasy like cake-mix cakes) and holds together really well, considering you have to slice it crosswise. I thought that was the trickiest part. You can control how bittersweet the decoration is, by how much you swirl the pinwheels. I found I had to drizzle the chocolate fairly close to the pan edge, otherwise the pinwheels shrink toward the center; and cut the chocolate deep into the cake as I swirl or else it forms a bitter crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2001
Looked like a good cake recipe but was very dissapointed. The cake was dry and the filling was much too sweet. Other problems were the pinwheel design was hard to see and there were no chocolate chunks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2001
we have been making Pinwheel Cake for Walker family special occasions for almost 50 years, my mom got the recipe from a magazine. Serve it really cold, in small servings. The bits of bitter chocolate and the fluffy filling are a great contrast. Bad for you, but oh so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2000
dry and the bits of chocolate are bitter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2000
This is a great recipe! My friend, Karen, gave it to me, and everyone loves it. Well worth the effort!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Chocolate Mayo Cake

Discover what a touch of mayo can do for chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States