Chocolate Pile-Up Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
Looking for an option to classic chocolate chip cookies?. I made this recipe to take to a friends' party. They are soo tasty! The toasted hazelnuts are a great idea. I might add a few more of them next time. This recipe is definitely a keeper. BD
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
This was a great recipe to start with and then I go and find a way to mess with it! I used 1/4c avocado, 1/4c dates and 1/2c margarine instead of the butter. I used only 1 cup of brown sugar, 1/4c of Nutella and 1/3c cocoa. I used only 1 cup of chocolate chips and everything else was the same. I thought they were very cake-like when baked at 350 for about 14 min so I bumped it up to 400 for 10 min and flattened them with a sugared fork. This turned out better, but I think they actually had TOO many chocolate chips! I would rather have added more hazelnuts and used white chocolate chips instead. It could do a really nice muffin recipe with some zucchini to lighten it up a bit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nina Ulmer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
These are delicious cookies. I added an extra tablespoon of the liqueur (cause I love it!) and used only two cups of chips (and that was plenty). I used a mixture of the kind of chips in the recipe as well as some peanut butter ones which went great. Butterscotch would work well too I bet, just go with whatever you have. Get a glass of milk ready for when you eat these, they are very rich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
I would give it a million stars if I could! AMAZING!! Worked just fine without the liquer, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
turned out very well. added mini-m&ms for 1 cup chips since that is what I had with the white and milk chips. added 2TB water in place of liquer; dough was very thick, but turned out rich and chocolatey. Will definitely keep this as my chocolate cookie recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smksmk00

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2011
I made these for an office potluck and they received rave reviews! They were a nice chewy cookie and didn't spread too much in the oven. I did replace the coffee-flavored liqueur with 2 TBSP of strong brewed coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
These are great, and although I used exactly what it called for, you could substitute peanut butter, mint or any other chip in there for a different taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
Excellent! very chocolatey. Better than just chocolate chip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by oneoldduck69
Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
Made these for Christmas they were very good even leaving out the nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grant Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: Beecher, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
Made these cookies as an experiment, they turned out great. Very good and certainly chocolatey, I think next time that I will leave out the cocoa though. Other than that very good. These cook very quickly so watch those ovens. Thank you so much for the recipe its a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Award-Winning Soft Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to bake a top-rated chocolate chip cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States