Chocolate Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
This is the one I always use for what ever reason we want a chocolate pie, it is so good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Norva Cullop

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
I had been searching for years to find a chocolate pie recipe like my grandma used to make. She had submitted the recipe to a church cookbook a long time ago but there were ingredients & cooking steps missing from the submission. I attempted to make her recipe before she passed away and it just didn't turn out and she couldn't remember the recipe well enough to tell me what went wrong. Low and behold, I have found this recipe and THIS IS PERFECT!! I have made it several times and the key is PATIENCE. It does take a bit to get the chocolate filling thickened as well as whip the meringue. I follow this recipe exactly as written with no changes. While I'm busy stirring the filling, I have my stand mixer beating the egg whites. They usually end up finishing at the same time. I've only had one issue with runny filling and that was because I didn't cook the filling long enough. I cook it to an almost peanut butter-like consistency. Thanks for the recipe Glenda!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
Very tasty, I will decrease sugar in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leona Frank Milton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
Very good flavor! Rich chocolate just the way I like it! Simple recipe too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
Perfect, just like my Granny's! As suggested, I doubled the recipe for a deep dish, but I didn't change a thing and it was absolutely delicious. Thanks so much for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Budge

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
My grandma used to make this EXACT pie when I was younger. She passed away and no one ever got the recipe. I have made COUNTLESS chocolate pies trying to find "her" recipe =) This taste just like my childhood. Thank you SOOOOO much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2012
Reduced sugar...otherwise very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Toledo, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
This is just the pie I was looking for. I've made almost this exact pie a few times in the past... simple ingredients and down-home flavor!! I did cut down on the sugar as per other reviews, but other than that no problems. Tips - For the custard, make extra sure that the yolk/flour/sugar mixture is mixed WELL and cook on med heat while stirring CONTINUOUSLY. If the heat is too low it will take forever and if it's too high it will burn. For the meringue, make sure you get NO YOLK in it, if there is even the smallest amount it will not form. By adding sugar to it, it does take longer to form than without, but the sugar is important for the flavour. Be patient.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
excellent! man it took a LONG time for the custard to set up, but once it did, it was awesome. i chilled my egg whites, mixing bowl, and whisk attachment in the refrigerator before beating them for the meringue and it went much faster for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
Always a hit at my house. Adding a pinch of salt balances the sweetness, and I like the suggestion to add some chocolate chips, but it's not necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rose Anne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States