Chocolate Peppermint Candies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
These are delicious and very easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2012
These turned out great..only problem I had was the chocolate isn't the right type for dipping so it never hardened up enough to hold in your hand without melting. My tip would be to use almond bark or Candyquix candy coating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
These were so good. I served them on Christmas day to family and friends and everyone raved about them. They are a little messy to make and mine didn't turn out as pretty as the picture but the taste makes up for that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tanyaburrows
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
If I could give this a 10 rating I would! WOW! These taste better than a peppermint paddy! My husband couldn't believe I made them. They were so easy to make. I followed the recipe exactly despite others reviews. I had no problems with stickiness. I used about 4 cups total of powdered sugar. Also with a few batches I added a little food coloring (red and green) because I made these to put on our table for Christmas dinner. Very good, I got lots of rave reviews from the family! :-) Oh and dipping them couldn't have been easier. I froze them all for about 10 minutes and did them in small batches of about 20 at a time while the others remain in the freezer. Mixed the chocolate and shortening as directed and used two forks the dip. They came out perfectly shaped and pretty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
I am giving this 4 stars only because they dont hold up for very long. They are great at first but after a few days, they are dry. The recipe says that dough should not be sticky. It takes more sugar than listed for that. Go on feel and not what recipe says. And the mint, although powerful at first, mellows out after adding the chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
At last a no-stove-top candy recipe. I live in high mountain range and it is a pleasure to find a really good delicious candy recipe. I did change the directions a bit - After drying - I knife frosted one side then let sit covered in cool area for overnight -ran out of time - and then frosted with a knife the next day because of reviews stating problems with dipping in chocolate. Came out perfectly and with a great peppermint flavor. THANKS MUCH - LOVE IT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
I love these! I made them just as a trial run and they turned out perfectly!! I did knead mine alittle bit longer because it made it alot denser and creamer, and then I threw them in the freezer for 10 mins before dipping them in chocolate. I then threw them back into the freezer so the chocolate would set up faster. I didn't have any problems at all. I will definitally make these again!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Blender Woman
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
These really should be called "clone of a York Peppermint Patty." They taste just like them. When I seen the recipe on the review page I had to try them out of curiosity. I made 1/2 recipe and still got close 16 candies sized like the store bought kind. I did not have shortening and did a mix of butter and veg. oil. I still had to scrape lots of excess chocolate off of each one after dipping. I believe the shortening would have been better though for less melting. I put them in the freezer to harden and it solidified them, but I think freezing the centers and then dipping would have been the best method as others suggested. I would save a recipe like this for Christmas time, but it was interesting to try anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
These were super easy, and oh so good. If you love peppermint patty's you buy in the store, you will treasure this recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Payette, Idaho, USA
Living In: Nampa, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
This recipe says prep time 20 min and ready in 20 min. After we started it we read that we must let them sit for 2 hours before we can put the chocolate on. Not worth the wait...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States