Chocolate Peppermint Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
I followed the recipe exactly as it was written. I was way to dry to shape into balls so I took other reviewers advice and added a half cup of milk. The balls spread into more of a cookie shape but the taste was wonderful. The second time I made them I added half a cup of crushed candy cane along with the milk. Added nice color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
Very very good, I made mine with almond extract though because i didn't have peppermint. I will definately make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KenderFriend

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
The dough will be dry. It will be necessary to work your shortening and egg yolk through it by hand. If you are in a hurry, this probably isn't the best recipe for you to work with. I found they do come out as "balls", but it's time consuming. Also one swipe back and forth with PAM and wipe it all around your cookie sheet with a paper towel.. allow balls to cool for 15 minutes BEFORE removing from cookie sheet. Balls will crack when they are done in the oven. Allow balls to cool completely another 20 mns or so BEFORE rolling in confectioners sugar. I also upped the peppermint extract to 3/4 teaspoon. These are my husband's favorites. They turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by amy002
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
Ok, so a few changes were necessary, but nothing too drastic. The basics were there. #1. Ignore the directions on the box & follow the recipe #2. Try 3/4 tsp of mint extract #3. Use 1/2 cup of milk after you whip the shortening and egg together #4. Stir until you get a sticky batter #5. If using a Silpat, it will take 12-15 minutes depending on how many you are baking at one time. #6. Try putting a peppermint hershey's kiss in the middle of the cookie after it's cooled for appx. 1 min. Not too much longer though or you won't be able to press the kiss in. #7. One batch makes around 34-37(ish) cookies. Very easy and very quick to make. They were a HUGE hit a the cookie party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2008
Something has to be missing, the cookies turned out VERY dry and just crumbled. Is the cake recipe suppose to be dry as directed? Or is is suppose to be prepared as directed on the box 1st? I followed the directions and was just very disappointed
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Rosie
Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2006
The name is, unfortunately, really misleading. I was looking for "balls" to make for my daughter's first birthday - I was going to build a pyramid. But these are, in fact, flat cookies. Delicious flat cookies, but still not balls. Oh, and I had to add milk because there was not enough moisture to form balls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Delburne, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2001
The cookie dough was so dry I had to squeeze the crumbs into the balls and they tasted rather dry as well. I think there is something missing from this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Theresa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wales, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2001
Very easy, and very good. Makes more than 24 cookies, though! I put a little mint M&M in the middle right after I took them out of the oven, and it made them look even more festive. Easiest and best Crismas cookie that I have ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Crinkles II

See how to make chocolate cookies coated in confectioners' sugar.

Chocolate Mint Candies Cookies

Bake your favorite thin chocolate mints into these melt-in-your-mouth cookies.

Eagle Brand® Chocolate Truffles

See how to make these delicious, decadent sweet treats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States