Chocolate Pecan Sandies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
This cookie has become a much anticipated addition to my Christmas cookie platter. I follow the recipe exactly but I make them bite size and just bake them for 15 minutes. Delicious~!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
These were pretty good. I was concerned with the little amount of sugar at first, but when measuring I didn't completely level it, so it added a little extra to my recipe. I thought they were going to be more like a chocolate pecan sandie cookie. But, they tasted just like a "chocolate version of a snowball cookie." I used a 1 Tblsp. cookie scoop and put the cookies on parchment instead of a sprayed pan. I got 32 baked cookies from the recipe. When cool I did coat them with the powdered sugar, but it took about twice as much as instructed. Thanks again, MARBALET for another simple to follow and good recipe. As they remind me of snowballs, I may make these as a Christmas cookie this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
I made these today and they turned out great! This is a keeper, I followed the recipe as written. I thought the dough was a bit loose so I chilled for an hour before forming my balls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Photo by Pam Ziegler Lutz
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
I followed this recipe to the letter. These were good, but almost too crumbly. They fall apart as soon as they're bitten, but at least they taste good as they crumble.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam Ziegler Lutz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
Excellent little cookie, I love how the cocoa taste comes through! I added sliced almonds instead of pecans cause that's what I had on hand, they came out very tasty! Also I have made these twice and did not bother with the powdered sugar, they still were great tasting without being overly sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
AMAZING!!!!! Just amazing! I love this stuff and will definently make it again! P.S.LET THEM COOL DOWN 100% THEN HAVE A DAMP CLOTH (SQUEEZE & DRAIN THE CLOTH AS MUCH AS YOU CAN) AND ROLL EACH SANDI ON IT ,THEN IN POWDERED SUGAR ...IT PICKS UP MORE POWDERED SUGAR THAT WAY .. I will absolutley make these on every holiday !!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
These were a nice change. This was one of 9 recipes that we baked this holiday. They held up well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Island Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alameda, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
So I changed the recipe just a bit- I omitted pecans and substituted about a cup of mini chocolate chips. I also added a little more cocoa powder than called for; I like the rich flavor that cocoa powder offers. They baked for 25 minutes perfectly. I let them cool for 20-30 minutes before placing them in a gallon size Ziplock bag to coat them with powdered sugar. All in all a really nice Christmas cookie that I will make again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portage, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2005
This is a great recipe! I used peanuts instead of pecans because that's what I had and it turned out wonderful. Thank you Holly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2000
These were great, not overly sweet treats. Big yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Chocolate Crinkles II

See how to make chocolate cookies coated in confectioners' sugar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States