Chocolate Pecan Sandies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
Fabulous recipe and it was well received at the cookie exchange I made it for. Whenever I make a recipe from here, I follow it exactly the first time. I read through all the reviews and was a bit concerned about whether to refrigerate it or not. Actually I had no problem with making the dough into balls. I doubled the recipe as I needed 8 dozen and it made a little more than that. And there is nothing I would change in this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jdeppel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamilton, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
I made these on my day off following the ingredients exactly. However, I followed a couple of tips from some of the other reviews instead. I chilled the dough one hour in the refrigerator before forming the cookies. It seemed to better the consistency. I also only baked the cookies for 15-minutes which was plenty. Then I doubled the amount of confectioners sugar for rolling the cookies in. I think they turned out pretty near perfect. I'll be making these every Christmas from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
I chilled and put on parchment paper to cook for 20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
AMAZING!!!!! Just amazing! I love this stuff and will definently make it again! P.S.LET THEM COOL DOWN 100% THEN HAVE A DAMP CLOTH (SQUEEZE & DRAIN THE CLOTH AS MUCH AS YOU CAN) AND ROLL EACH SANDI ON IT ,THEN IN POWDERED SUGAR ...IT PICKS UP MORE POWDERED SUGAR THAT WAY .. I will absolutley make these on every holiday !!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
I've made these a few times and love it! Very nutty and just enough chocolate goodness. Sandies are typically a drier cookie than most, so if you are expecting a moist chewy cookie, this recipe is not for you. I follow the ingredients exactly but make the portions smaller because they tend to crumble apart. I find that chilling the mixture for a few minutes and squeezing them tight when forming into balls prevents crumbling. Also, I don't bother with the powdered sugar. It is good as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BALDOR1

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by iloverawfish
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
This cookie is very easy to make. I did not change the recipe at all and it turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
So I changed the recipe just a bit- I omitted pecans and substituted about a cup of mini chocolate chips. I also added a little more cocoa powder than called for; I like the rich flavor that cocoa powder offers. They baked for 25 minutes perfectly. I let them cool for 20-30 minutes before placing them in a gallon size Ziplock bag to coat them with powdered sugar. All in all a really nice Christmas cookie that I will make again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portage, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
I used ground almonds as I did not have pecans on hand. The cookies were gone much too quickly. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
Delicious! Perfect change from making regular pecan sandies. One of the first cookies to go around the holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by parkerdickerson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
I made these today and they turned out great! This is a keeper, I followed the recipe as written. I thought the dough was a bit loose so I chilled for an hour before forming my balls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Chocolate Crinkles II

See how to make chocolate cookies coated in confectioners' sugar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States