Chocolate Pecan Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2004
There was so much filling for this pie that it overflowed in the oven while it cooked. I suggest using a deep dish pie crust. I used less chocolate then called for and it still overpowered the pecan taste. My family said I should just call it a chocolate pie. The pie was so rich I felt my heart racing minutes after eating it. I LOVE rich desserts but this one was too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2004
this recipe was awesome!!!, i made it for my brother in law from L.A., although going by other reviews I decreased the chocolate morsels to one cup, and I used dark karo syrup instead and I added a capful of premium vanilla flavor, I cook it by 9 PM and by the following morning it was gone! so I have to make another one. this one is definitly a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2004
I have made this pie three times in the past week, trying to get it just right. It is so rich with the chocolate that I like it best with mini morsels, a little more subtle. The filling is so generous it can be used in two 7 inch pie shells or one deep dish, 9 inch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marionfive

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2004
Made this for T-Day 03...Good Lord this was chocolately!! I used only 3/4 cup of chocolate chips & it was STILL too chocolately! My husband, however, ate it up like it was his last meal ever! My tips: use less chocolate chips when mixing, bake for 30 minutes & cover with a foil tent (stick a toothpick in the center & layer foil over it like a tent....otherwise, the foil will stick to the pecans), then finish baking so you have a pretty golden pie. Thanks for sharing the recipe; will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2003
This was a favorite at my Holiday dinner. It's quick and easy and not to mention delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2003
I am well know for my pecan pies. I tried this recipe for my father-in-law. It was just OK. I will not make it again. I was not impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2003
This is a great recipe and extremely rich! If you are a chocaholic, you will love this recipe. Keep it to very small pieces though, as a regular slice is almost too much. My 10 year old thought that it was almost too chocolaty! I will make this recipe again, but maybe I will use about half of the chocolate that it suggests, and maybe fill it with a few more pecans. I would even suggest adding a little bourbon or even Kaluha to make up for the chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2002
I made this for my husband because he loves pecan pie and he loves chocolate pie, so I thought he'd really love this. I don't like chocolate or pecans, so I can't comment, but based on his response, this will not be made in this house again. He said the chocolate was completely overpowering and I used less than was called for. I gave a few slices to my brother and he said it was only OK.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by caliboo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2002
everyone just loved it. Its great and a wonderful change!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2001
This recipe was just a little to rich in chocolate for my taste, and I'm a chocolate lover. But if you're craving something super sweet, this is the recipe for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

Kentucky Pecan Pie

See how to make a rich, sweet, and gooey pecan pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States