Chocolate Pecan Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Sorry, I just don't like the mix in this recipe. No one that tried it, liked it. Just not our thing I guess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BizzCanCook
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2011
Really easy to make. After I read the other reviews, I split the recipe into two pies. I topped it with whipped cream, chopped pecans and caramel. So Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BizzCanCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Auburn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
been making this pie since Hector was a pup. In Kentucky it is called "derby pie" and made every May for the race & parties.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shelbyville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Ashland, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
More like a gooey brownie with sugar pecans on top. so yummy, and super easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brookenelson

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bountiful, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
I made 1 and 1/2 recipes. I made 2 beautiful pies and did not run over the sides. I did not measure my pecans, I just placed them in a circular pattern on top of the pie. It bubbled up enough that it coated the pecans. Yummy. I also used some dark chocolate wafers that I had lying around, approx 1 cup. Again, Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
This is too much filling for a 9" pie crust, had filling left over. It was more of a chocolate chip pie rather than a pecan pie and overwhelmingly sweet. If you are wanting a traditional pecan pie flavor with a hint of chocolate, this is definitely not the recipe to try. Possibly use half of the chocolate recommended for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2006
This pie is easy to make and bakes up beautifully, but it's just too sweet for our palates. If you love chocolate, and have an awesome sweet tooth, don't pass this one up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JULIAGULIA3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2005
I tried making this pie for Thanksgiving and it was flop. I followed the recipe and the top of the pie burned (not the crust) and the inside wasn't even cooked. I was very disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2005
You need to bake it longer than 50 minutes if you want it to set. I have made this a few times and people love it, but I've learned to cut the sugar by a bit, cut the chocolate chips to 3/4 C, increase the pecans, cover the crust edge with foil and bake for approximately 65 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2004
There was so much filling for this pie that it overflowed in the oven while it cooked. I suggest using a deep dish pie crust. I used less chocolate then called for and it still overpowered the pecan taste. My family said I should just call it a chocolate pie. The pie was so rich I felt my heart racing minutes after eating it. I LOVE rich desserts but this one was too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

Pecan Pie V

See how to make a top-rated pecan pie without the corn syrup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States