Chocolate Pecan Pie IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2004
Great pie!!! Not to sweet, and really easy to make! I covered the edges of the crust for the first 25 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2005
This is the best!! I had a similar recipe years ago from a great chocolate cookbook that I loaned my daughter (who has to have this for her birthday!) and SHE LOST IT!! Found this and it's better than the original!!! I don't use TO DIE FOR, but this IS!! Everybody wants the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2004
I had made a chocloate pecan pie several years ago. I'd lost the recipe, but remembered how good it was. This recipe was just what I was looking for. Good chocolate flavor and very easy to make (even for those who don't normally make pies!) The only suggestion I have is to cover the pie with foil halfway through the baking time so the crust doesn't burn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
Quick tip: Use an aluminum pie shield or aluminum foil to cover the top during 1/2 the baking time. This chocolate pecan pie is FABULOUS!! You gotta try it. It is great right out of the oven, but tastes even better the second day. It really hits the spot when you have to have something sweet & rich. Would give it 10 stars if I could! I chopped the pecans up a little instead of using halves. Also, I only had bittersweet chocolate (recipe calls for unsweetened) but it worked out jolly good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2005
be sure to check at minimum cook time. I almost overcooked mine
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2004
This is the best chocolate pecan pie around. My family members ate it all up. The unsweetend chocolate is a great touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
Fabulous! I've made many a chocolate pecan pie before, but they all had chocolate chips. Melting the chocolate and mixing in gave the pie an incredibly rich flavor. I doubled the chocolate and was glad I did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
Only a four since I could not get the center to set - and ended up baking long enough to overbrown the edges. Next time I baked for an hour at 350 with foil over the edges for the last 30 minutes and it set up better without burning the edges. The flavor is wonderful, but next time I will try it with less butter and more sugar to make more of a true pecan pie with chocolate flavor. I think the 1/3 cup butter is just too much to allow the pie to set up properly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NewsteadECS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
As far as taste is concerned, this was a 5 star...BUT, I found that the directions were lacking. You say to mix with a hand mixer, but for how long? Till what consistency? I mixed it long enough for the batter to rise and be smooth, not really runny...when I stirred my pecans in like directed, they sank straight to the bottom. So, I ended up putting in more pecan halves and poked at them with a toothpick until they went just ever so slightly below the surface and then baked as directed. If I hadn't have done that, then it would have looked like a Chocolate Pie with a pecan surprise at the bottom, rather than looking like what it was supposed to be. Other than that, like I said, it tasted brilliant but the directions are lacking too much for me to give this a five star! If it was up to me, I would mix until well beaten and smooth. Then I would pour pecan pieces in to just cover the batter, followed by the remainder of the batter. I would then pour on the pecan halves and lightly poke them to just below surface level so that you can still see the pecans clearly and then bake. I will definitely use this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JenLee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Invermere, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
I have been looking for an alternative to the super sweet gooey pecan pie that we all grew up with. This is it. I had so many raves that everyone asked if I had more. There are more out on this web site with milk chocolate and semi sweet but this with unsweetened is wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

Chef John’s Pecan Pie

Pecan pie with the perfect ratio of nutty crunch to sticky sweetness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States