Chocolate Pecan Pie IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
This is a delicious-tasting pie. I adapted the recipe for a deep-dish pie so multiplied the recipe by 1 2/3, and used a combination of dark cocoa powder and semi-sweet chocolate chips. I used the 'Butter Flaky Pie Crust' recipe on this website for the crust. Since I was baking in a thick Le Creuset ceramic pie plate, my baking time was far longer at 1.5 hours! I covered it after 25 minutes in the oven because it was already quite brown and even then, the pecans around the edge of the crust, after covering, were borderline overbrowned. During baking, it puffed up beautifully to nearly 3 inches, and it still seemed a little soft in the centre when I turned off the oven, but I figured it would solidify as it cooled. The texture and taste of the pie was fabulous. As others have mentioned, there is a subtle yet distinct chocolate flavour. The next day when I sliced it, it had indeed solidified, although there was still a little tiny bit of liquid oozing out from the filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
Fabulous! I've made many a chocolate pecan pie before, but they all had chocolate chips. Melting the chocolate and mixing in gave the pie an incredibly rich flavor. I doubled the chocolate and was glad I did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Q.
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
I made this recipe for our annual Christmas Eve party and it got rave reviews. Several people asked me for this recipe and I told them all about Allrecipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Q.

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
This was a good pie, I used a Pillsbury crust - I love pecan pie & thought this would be the ultimate. It was good, but not "the best" or even great, just good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer C.
Home Town: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
Fantastic!!! I was a little apprehensive trying a pecan pie, because most that I have tried before seemed a little too rich for my liking, or I've had trouble getting them to set up just right. Not this recipe!!! I followed the recipe to a T, to the point of a 25 mile round trip to the store to obtain unsweetened chocolate, when I discovered I only had semisweet. I'm glad I did! As another reviewer commented, the chocolate was not overpowering, subtle is how I'd describe it. My filling came out the perfect consistency and the recipe seemed downright simple. I did cover my pie with tin foil after about 20 minutes of baking. The only bad thing is....it lasted only one evening in this household of finicky eaters. I'll definitly do this again,and again and soon!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by swtjenna

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Wintersville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Carlton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2008
this was such a wonderful twist to my mother's pecan pie, I could only ever eat a tiny bit of hers, but when you add the chocolate, especially if it's unsweetened it really helps take the too sweet edge of f a southern pecan pie. I fell in love with this recipe when I made it one year for Christmase and have used it ever since! Thanks so much for sharing this recipe it will hold a place in my recipe box for the long term!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PattyH

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2008
excellent. took longer to cook. very deep. could have been a larger shallower pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SPARKPRINCESS
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
This is a wonderful recipe. My husband has made it 3 times now and it always gets rave reviews. Very, very rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Haven, Missouri, USA
Living In: Arnold, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
The first time I made this, it was good, but I made it in a 10" pie pan. The second time I made this I increased the recipe by roughly 1/3 and it was the best pie I have ever made--pecan or not. I had to give the recipe to three people. I also always use more pecans when I do any pecan pie--about 1-1/2 or 2 times as much as it calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2007
If you love chocolate, you'll love this very rich chocolaty pie. Delightfully rich and good! One thin slice is all you need and your chocolate craving has been fulfilled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama Luvs Papa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

Chef John’s Pecan Pie

Pecan pie with the perfect ratio of nutty crunch to sticky sweetness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States