Chocolate Pecan Pie IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
This is my go-to recipe for Thanksgiving. It is requested every year. I also add some cinnamon and drizzle melted semi-sweet chocolate on top after it cools. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmhurst, Illinois, USA
Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
Fabulous! Warmed up it is even better!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kerry

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
I made this pie on Christmas Eve morning and it did not survive until dinner on Christmas day. My family ate it up and even the ones who don't eat pecan pie loved it. I happened to only have semi-sweet chocolate, but it worked great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SJohn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
This was FANTASTIC! Kinda like a brownie crossed with pecan pie. Very rich. A small serving does the trick! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROLLERSGIRLY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Dallas, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2010
This was very good. I would use whipping cream as a topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
Only a four since I could not get the center to set - and ended up baking long enough to overbrown the edges. Next time I baked for an hour at 350 with foil over the edges for the last 30 minutes and it set up better without burning the edges. The flavor is wonderful, but next time I will try it with less butter and more sugar to make more of a true pecan pie with chocolate flavor. I think the 1/3 cup butter is just too much to allow the pie to set up properly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NewsteadECS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
Excellent flavor! This turned out very well. I was a little concerned when I cut into the pie and the chocolate had seperated from the pie filling a bit, but the flavor was amazing and I would definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SOUTHERNJOY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
It really wasn't a bad pie. I guess I was disappointed because I was expecting a sticky, gooey pecan pie but with chocolate. The pie actually had more of a custard/pudding filling. Again, it was a good pie but the consistency isn't at all like traditional pecan pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hanny Manny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
As far as taste is concerned, this was a 5 star...BUT, I found that the directions were lacking. You say to mix with a hand mixer, but for how long? Till what consistency? I mixed it long enough for the batter to rise and be smooth, not really runny...when I stirred my pecans in like directed, they sank straight to the bottom. So, I ended up putting in more pecan halves and poked at them with a toothpick until they went just ever so slightly below the surface and then baked as directed. If I hadn't have done that, then it would have looked like a Chocolate Pie with a pecan surprise at the bottom, rather than looking like what it was supposed to be. Other than that, like I said, it tasted brilliant but the directions are lacking too much for me to give this a five star! If it was up to me, I would mix until well beaten and smooth. Then I would pour pecan pieces in to just cover the batter, followed by the remainder of the batter. I would then pour on the pecan halves and lightly poke them to just below surface level so that you can still see the pecans clearly and then bake. I will definitely use this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JenLee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Invermere, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2009
Good. Took longer than normal pie for me to bake, but then I am in high altitude.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

Chef John’s Pecan Pie

Pecan pie with the perfect ratio of nutty crunch to sticky sweetness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States