Chocolate Pecan Pie III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
I have tried several different recipes for Chocolate Pecan Pie (my husband's favorite!!). This is by far the best recipe out there! The change I made to the recipe is I beat the eggs. Put a bit of the hot chocolate mixture in a separte bowl and whisk the eggs into the bowl of chocolate to prevent the eggs from cooking (the "scramble" effect), pour the remaining hot chocolate mixture into the bowl of chocolate/egg mixture, whisking constantly, until throughly mixed. Then I will add the vanilla and salt and pecans. I probably use more that 1 cup of pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
135 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gramma Kelly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Avon, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2005
An absentee guest sent this pie to our home for Thanksgiving dinner. I was too busy and too full to try the dessert and, when cleaning up the kitchen, I decided to pack up the few leftovers and send it back home with her husband (I was trying to save space in the fridge). When my other guests learned that I had returned the remaining pie, they were sooooo disappointed, saying it was the best pie they had ever eaten and I was crazy to have given it up. When I tried the pie a day later, I have to admit that it was fantastic. I should let you know that she mistakenly used 1 cup of butter (instead of only 1/2) and I don't know if that error added even more to its "fantasticness". I can't wait to make this myself! update: I made this last night and made the terrible error of adding the eggs to the hot chocolate mixture and taking my time before mixing it all together. What happened? Some of the eggs cooked, resulting in chunks of scrambled eggs in the pie! Gross!!! I picked out the chunks of egg, ruining the look of the pie, but it still tasted fine. How does this pie taste hot out of the oven? Ugh. How does it taste after a night of chilling in the refrigerator? Deeelish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2005
This was my first time eating a chocolate pecan pie. While the pie was very good, I prefer the original pecan pie. It was a quick and easy dessert, though, and my kids enjoyed it. If you aren't really, really into a chocolatey taste, then I'd suggest cutting back on the cocoa powder a bit. It wasn't an overpowering taste, I just felt the pecan pie taste was lost in it. Edited to add: I just pulled this out of the fridge to try it again, and it was SO much better after it was chilled for a few hours. The middle became a lot more creamy and smooth, almost a hot fudge consistency. I will make this again but make sure it's been well chilled before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hatboro, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2003
This is excellent pie. I normally find pecan pie (and any chocolate varieties) far too sweet for more than a sliver, but this recipe makes a delicious chocolate pecan pie. The filling has a gooey, fudgy consistency and tastes incredible. My husband (a chocoholic) said this is the best pecan pie he's had. I used 1 stick of butter instead of margarine and used a refrigerated ready-made pie crust. Simple and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2001
The filling overflowed. I believe this would make 2 9 inch pies easily. Excellent recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2006
This pie was extremly tasty and had great flavor. I followed the recipe excatly how it said and it came out perfect. the center was gooey and the pecans added a nice crunch. I will be making this thousands of times more. WARNING: this was extremly fatning and filling. if your watching your waist STAY AWAY.(but your tastebuds will thank you.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2006
You may think this sounds crazy, but try adding a little Bourbon Whiskey on top of the pecans prior to baking. The alccohol potency will dissipate after baking, but adds just the right amount of flavour!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ankeny, Iowa, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LatinaCook
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2006
We liked this pie a lot. I wouldn't say it has a "hint" of chocolate though, it is very chocolately but not overwhelmingly sweet. I read some reviews and just couldn't believe some people expecting this pie to taste like a regular pecan pie, it is NOT a regular pecan pie , it is not supposed to taste like one. I used pecan halves instead of chopped ones. I heated up the mixture in MED/LO stirring constantly, it takes a little while but you'll know it is ready when the mixture thins, it will not thicken up like pudding and such things do. I let it cool for a while and then i put it in the refrigerator overnight. It might be kind of watery otherwise. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LatinaCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jardines Del Caribe, Ponce, Puerto Rico
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2005
So delicious! I recommend using a deep dish pie crust b/c there is so much yummy filling. Also, I opted to use butter sticks instead of margarine. A very tasty spin on classic pecan pie. Many asked me for the recipe when I made this for a work function and even said they were not big fans of pecan pie, but loved this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
I’ve made this pie for various Thanksgivings and holiday parties and it is always a huge hit. I make a few small adjustments. I use butter rather than margarine and I add about 2-3 oz of chopped dark chocolate into the sugar, cocoa, corn syrup mix right before adding the eggs. I also add about 3 TBSP of good bourbon into the mix right before adding the pecans. I put a full cup of chopped pecans into the pie. A few other suggestions: Use the best chocolate and cocoa powder you can get your hands on. I switched to Valrhona cocoa powder a while back and it makes all the difference in the world for recipes using cocoa powder. Temper the eggs before adding them. Quickly whisk a little of the hot chocolate/syrup mix into the eggs first then add the eggs to the remainder of your mix. Just dumping in the eggs will give you little bits of scrambled egg in your pie. This pie, especially if you add the bourbon, is best made a day ahead of time so the flavors have time to meld. I really prefer this recipe using cocoa powder to those calling for chocolate chips. The flavor is so much richer with the cocoa powder! A staple in my holiday cookbook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Covina, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 179) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

Southern Pecan Pie I

See how to make the sweet, nutty pie that's a true Southern staple.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States