Chocolate Pecan Pie III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
What a great recipe! I really enjoy cooking however baking is something I never really work at except chocolate chip cookies. However, lately I have been making more dessert recipes. Baking can been more challenging since it requires exact measurements. I feel that this is a forgiving recipe in that sense and great for a beginner baker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lish

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New City, New York, USA
Living In: Islip, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
This pie was easy to make and looked beautiful when it was done, but it tasted like nothing. It had really no flavor -- maybe a slight chocolate flavor, but it was just bland and dull. Even my husband mentioned it. Guess next year I'll stick to regular (non-chocolate) pecan pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cara713

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Canton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
Was ok but not one of my favorite pies. I love pecan pie but with chocolate it turned me off a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chic

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bedford, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Cumberland, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
Fabulous. I used egg beaters in place of 2 eggs. I let is bake for a few minutes too long and it was a bit brown on the top but delicious! I was a little worried when the pie 'poofed' way up and then fell as it cooled but all was good and my guests LOVED the pie. I'm making it again for our Christmas Eve dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
This was the best pecan pie I've ever eaten!!! I added a little more chocolate chips than the recipe suggested but other than that I followed it exactly. I took this to a potluck lunch and it was all gone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
My husband loves this pie!!! The only change I make is to use 2 cups of pecan!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
This pie is fun, relatively easy and most important the girls love it for the chocolate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dave

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Joseph, Missouri, USA
Living In: Old Lyme, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
Seriously, THE BEST PECAN PIE EVER! Soooo good, and I followed the advice on how to keep the eggs from scrambling. SO SO SO SO SO GOOD! I chilled over night and it was a total hit, I will be making it again for Christmas. My only advice is making more than one of these because trust me, it will go fast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
Awesome! But a little goes a long way - its VERY sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
It wasn't quite chocolate(y) enough for us so I added an extra tablespoon of cocoa (I used the Hershey's cocoa that is half regular & half Dutch Processed) & put mini chocolate chips in the bottom of the crust. The family went crazy over it. In my opinion, the added extras made it a 5+ star pie. It just became one of our favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fredericksburg, Texas, USA
Living In: West, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 179) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

Southern Pecan Pie I

See how to make the sweet, nutty pie that's a true Southern staple.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States