Chocolate Pecan Pie III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
TEMPER YOUR EGGS!!! Or you will have scrambled eggs in your pie mixture!! This is a really great rich pie, especially when served with real whipped cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
I chose this recipe from 3 other recipes that I've narrowed my choices down to. One word: Heavenly! It was the first pie to go at Thanksgiving, and it was a huge hit. Everyone loved it, and it was so quick and easy to make. One thing though: The recipe is too much for a regular pie crust. Next time I will go with a deep dish crust, although I did enjoy "cleaning" out the saucepan, lol!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
I used a 9" glass pie plate and this was the perfect amount of filling. I used butter instead of margarine. Very nice chocolate flavor, not too overpowering at all. I baked it for 1 hour and it was done nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
I live at 50000 feet. 30 minutes was enough time to bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
I enjoyed it. I didn't pour about a cup of the batter in, fearing (as others had said) that it was too much. In hindsight I think it needed the whole amount, because after it cooled, it sunk down and was only about an inch thick. Other than that, quick, easy, and very tasty. Oh yeah - you really need to alter the recipe to say that the batter should be cooled before adding eggs, or to temper them......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by WHATScooking4DINNER
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
After reading the reviews, I used a deep dish piecrust, for which there was just enough filling. However, it took longer to bake, as the center was still runny. Loved the chocolate in the pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
This pie was the hit of Thanksgiving. Everyone loved the way the chocolate did not overpower the pecans. One thing though, DO NOT put an airbake pan underneath to catch spill-overs. It made my second pie not get done inside.But. it taste so good that everyone still loved it though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
My husband LOVED this! He said it was the best thing he had for Thanksgiving! I followed the recipe exactly and it turned out perfectly! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hope, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by artgrrl
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
the perfect thanksgiving pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by artgrrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
I made this yesterday as my first attempt on pecan pie, OMG it is soooo yummy!!!! The only change I made is that I used butter instead of margarine. It was wonderful after being chilled for a few hours, but after being chilled all night it was amazing! Definately will make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 179) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

Southern Pecan Pie I

See how to make the sweet, nutty pie that's a true Southern staple.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States