Chocolate Pecan Pie III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2007
I'm not really a pecan pie fan, but even I liked this and my family LOVED it at Thanksgiving. I left the pecans whole and sprinkled 1/2 cup of chocolate chips along with the top pecan layer for extra chocolatey flavor. I suggest prebaking the crust for a few minutes, because the liquid filling seeped in and made the bottom soggy. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Palm Desert, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2007
Delicious! I used butter instead of margarine and otherwise followed the recipe exactly. I have made this several times and it tastes great with dark corn syrup as well (I was out of light). This is quick, easy, and really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
Didn't change a thing, this recipe was a hit with everyone who tried it! If you like Pecan pie this is a must.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Burlingame, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
I made it exactly as written and it was delicious! My fiance (who loves pecan pie) said this is by far the best pecan pie he's ever had. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
TEMPER YOUR EGGS!!! Or you will have scrambled eggs in your pie mixture!! This is a really great rich pie, especially when served with real whipped cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
I chose this recipe from 3 other recipes that I've narrowed my choices down to. One word: Heavenly! It was the first pie to go at Thanksgiving, and it was a huge hit. Everyone loved it, and it was so quick and easy to make. One thing though: The recipe is too much for a regular pie crust. Next time I will go with a deep dish crust, although I did enjoy "cleaning" out the saucepan, lol!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
I used a 9" glass pie plate and this was the perfect amount of filling. I used butter instead of margarine. Very nice chocolate flavor, not too overpowering at all. I baked it for 1 hour and it was done nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
I live at 50000 feet. 30 minutes was enough time to bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
I enjoyed it. I didn't pour about a cup of the batter in, fearing (as others had said) that it was too much. In hindsight I think it needed the whole amount, because after it cooled, it sunk down and was only about an inch thick. Other than that, quick, easy, and very tasty. Oh yeah - you really need to alter the recipe to say that the batter should be cooled before adding eggs, or to temper them......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by WHATScooking4DINNER
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
After reading the reviews, I used a deep dish piecrust, for which there was just enough filling. However, it took longer to bake, as the center was still runny. Loved the chocolate in the pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 173) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

Southern Pecan Pie I

See how to make the sweet, nutty pie that's a true Southern staple.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States