Chocolate Pecan Pie III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
Wow! I love this pie! Made it for Thanksgiving along with several other pies and this was one if the first to disappear. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarahsbleucheese

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Covington, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Ruston, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
Made this for Thanksgiving and it was a hit. Only changes I made were to use real butter plus another cup of pecans, 1 seemed too skimpy. I also used xtra dark cocoa and while the flavor was good, it was toooo black, next time I'll use the regular. Thank you, Ruth for this recipe, I SO prefer the flavor of cocoa over chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
This is great. The perfect amount of chocolate and pecan. Very rich and not too sweet. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by APRILMARANDA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Flagstaff, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
This was really good, just a hint of chocolate. Served with vanilla icecream. Husband and daughter loved it. Would make again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Gordon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sitka, Alaska, USA
Living In: Mukilteo, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
Delicious! I have to say I didn't follow the recipe totally, though. I only had dark corn syrup, and I only used 3/4 cups. I used chocolate chips instead of cocoa and I used a LOT. I had to cook it longer than stated, but it was delicious! This pie has a lot of sugar/corn syrup in proportion to the amount of pecans, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
When we ran out of pie, my family was asking me why I didn't make 2!! I was 1/4 cup short of corn syryp, but it was perfect, I wouldn't change a thing next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
Yumm! Mine totally rose out of the crust and fell over. But it was still delish. I used bittersweet chocolate instead of cocoa powder. Don't know if that was the culprit or not. Don't care. I had to exercise restraint to not just give everyone a fork and just eat the whole thing together right out of the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Carrollton, Georgia, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lolo
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
Delish! Just perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2008
Okay, but not the best. I would recommend Belguim chocolate chips to make the filline. Powdered cocoa is not the greatest ingredient.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2008
Really good! I followed suggestions and used a deep dish pie plate- it was just the right size. I also wisked the eggs and poured the warm ingredients into the eggs- no issues with scrambling. Hubby loved it. Only thing I would change is that I think it needs more pecans in the filling. Thanks! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crystal Lake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 179) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

Southern Pecan Pie I

See how to make the sweet, nutty pie that's a true Southern staple.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States