Chocolate Pecan Pie III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
What did I do wrong? The taste gets a 5, but my pie was more like soup! I am an experienced baker and followed recipe exactly except I used a very dark cocoa powder and I baked the pie an additional 15 mintues because I could tell it was not setting up. I could not really call it a pie. It really was a mess. Again, the flavor was there, but I would not make again without major revisions. Perhpas adding some flour?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by annabelle219

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
I've made pecan pies before that no one touched (and not because I'm a bad cook) but this one had a glowing reception at Thanksgiving and it was requested again for Christmas Day. When I made it with cocoa powder, the chocolate settled to the bottom half of the filling, which was interesting but not intended. Using bittersweet chocolate instead (1/2 cup) solved that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
Yum, giving to in-laws as gifts, because they are pecan lovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
Wonderful!! I added 2 tea. instand espresso powder. I will definately make again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Simpsonville, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
Thanksgiving staple! make sure you add small bits of the hot chocolate mixture to the egg mixture to "shock" eggs so that they dont scramble!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Frisco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
The unsweetened cocoa cuts down on the sweetness of the pie and adds the perfect amount of chocolate flavor evenly throughout the pie. It didn't last long
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Leeton, Missouri, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
Very good! Easy to make. I did add 1/3 c more pecans. The amount of filling was just right. The cocoa adds a great touch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Loveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
Wow! I love this pie! Made it for Thanksgiving along with several other pies and this was one if the first to disappear. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarahsbleucheese

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Covington, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Ruston, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
Made this for Thanksgiving and it was a hit. Only changes I made were to use real butter plus another cup of pecans, 1 seemed too skimpy. I also used xtra dark cocoa and while the flavor was good, it was toooo black, next time I'll use the regular. Thank you, Ruth for this recipe, I SO prefer the flavor of cocoa over chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
This is great. The perfect amount of chocolate and pecan. Very rich and not too sweet. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by APRILMARANDA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Flagstaff, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 176) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

Southern Pecan Pie I

See how to make the sweet, nutty pie that's a true Southern staple.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States