Chocolate Pecan Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
This recipe is delicious prepared as described, but it's even yummier (and more professional tasting) if you melt the chocolate chips and butter before adding them to the corn syrup mixture. You'll want to use the full cup of chocolate chips if you do this. Like others, I found that for a homemade pie crust, the recipe only yields one pie. The pieces are tall enough to easily serve 12. This dessert is elegant and delicious with whipped cream and a cup of coffee! It has become a holiday staple for our family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
Was so not impressed with this pie. It didnt set up and the middle was all mooshy, I did it to the recipe instructions exactly and even baked it 10 minutes more to see if it would set. My husband is from the south and I make pecan pies all the time. I will definitely not be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by superwoman8977

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mishawaka, Indiana, USA
Living In: Beech Grove, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MagicallyDelicious
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
I am just waiting impatiently for it to cool but the little bit I have already had is worth five stars, and my house smells amazing! One thing though, this did just fill one large pie crust for me and took a lot longer than the 45 minutes it said. I kept putting it back in 10 minutes at a time, I think it was actually more like 75 minutes for me. I covered it after 45 to keep it from scorching and it came out looking fantastic. I can't wait to cut into this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MagicallyDelicious

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Champaign, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2009
This is one of my most requested pies! It is so easy and yields 2 delicious pies once I add an extra cup of pecans and another ¾ of a cup of chocolate chips. So yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
RICH - my family loved it!!! Can only eat small pieces at one time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
I am a chocolate and pecan lover...this was the best and easiest pie to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacqueline J

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AlexNSydsMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mountain Top, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
If you want a pie that looks and tastes as basic and effortless as it can be, this is it. But, it was easy to make and I did have one person compliment it (though my family was very dissapointed, they usually love my pies). I followed the recipe excatly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by asia5683

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
We have made this pie many many times, and it is always well received. We follow the changes recommended by "crystal" with perfect results. Rather than mix everything together, we put the chocolate chips on the crust first, pour in the filling, and add the pecans to the top. We also loosely cover with foil for the last 15 minutes to prevent the crust from becoming overdone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
It had too many choc. chips for me but other than that it was great.Real easy to make.I really needed something like that since I was making a pecan pie for the first time and it was on Thanksgiving I was duing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Southaven, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

Irresistible Pecan Pie

See how to make a sweet, rich, totally irresistible pecan pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States