Chocolate Pecan Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
Not what I expected. This was very very rich because you are eating mouthfuls of chocolate chips. As other reviewers mentioned, the chocolate chips did not melt at all & it was more like "chocolate chip pie with nuts". I was expecting more of a "pecan pie like filling along with some chocolate fudgy-ness". Maybe I will try it again & melt the chocolate first & then mix in the nuts -- before baking. Or else I may just try another recipe. On the fence.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
This is pretty good but I've made/had better. I just wanted a quick and easy recipe so I used this one. The chocolate chips don't melt and give a crunch, so melt them or don't depending on your preference. I only put half the chocolate chips this calls for (all I had) and there was plenty of chocolate and no filling overflow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
I used pre-made pie shells that were HEB's brand, and there was enough filling for two full pies! Maybe those shells were especially shallow, but I'm glad they come in packages of two. Not that I'm complaining - this college kid has plenty of hungry friends! I might melt the chocolate first next time - it's more of a chocolate chip pecan pie, right now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
I have made this several times and it is wonderful. I don't know why anyone would complain that this recipe is anything less than perfect as written. I followed the directions exactly and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brookneal, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
Loved this. I don't bake a lot so like it to be easy and fool proof when I do. I did melt the chocolate chips with the butter and used a deep dish pie shell. Family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Westerville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Travis & Amanda
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
First pecan pie I've made. Easy to make. I melted the chocolate in the microwave and stirred in. Based on reviews, I cut back the chocolate to 1C, and used a very bittersweet chocolate. As well, I added 1T of bourbon, which you could taste the first day, but not later. Delicious! My mother-in-law requested the recipe and father-in-law ate 1.5 pieces, and he's a diabetic! :) Worth it! (I baked some sweet potatoes in the oven at the same time, and it worked great!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
This pie quickly started browning heavily for an almost-burnt appearance. I lowered the heat a little and cooked the minimum amount of time to help but by the end, it looked like slightly-burnt meringue on top. The one change I made was using butter instead of margarine. It tasted decent but wasn't attractive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
Delish...this was so easy and good that next time I will make 2 as there wasn't any left. I made it just the way the recipe stated and I didn't have any trouble with the chocolate chips, everything cooked perfectly. I put it in to cook while we were eating our Thanksgiving dinner, when we got through eating and cleaning up it was ready. I served it warm with vanilla ice cream and it was so good! Thank you for the recipe, this will be one of my go to pies for many years to come!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
Simple easy recipe that my family loved. I only used 1 cup of chocolate chips because I was afraid it would be too sweet. I also had a little extra left over after I filled the pie crust, but I just spooned out the choc chips and pecans and poured out the remaining juice. All in all, good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
Great tasting pie but too sweet for our liking. Next time, will definitely reduce the chocolate quantity to half or even just a handful. I've seen other recipes where they just add a handful of chocolate chips on the bottom of the pie and then pour the mixture. Thanks anyways!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

Irresistible Pecan Pie

See how to make a sweet, rich, totally irresistible pecan pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States