Chocolate Pecan Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2005
As far as the directions go, I'd give a technical score of 3 stars. There are a few things I would like to add to the directions: Melt the chocolate (at 50% power in the microwave) and add 1 1/2 Tbl. butter in pieces, stirring to blend. Pour the chocolate into the bottom of a 9" DEEP DISH pie crust, and refrigerate. (If you want a more subtle chocolate taste, I suggest cutting it to 1 cup choc + 1T butter for a thin layer in the pie - I'll do this next time). Then in a bowl, beat the sugar and butter first, then add the other things, pouring the corn syrup while you are mixing. Bake in a hot oven on a cookie sheet. I preferred having a soft layering of chocolate under the pecan layer which would be easy to slice hot or cool. Baking: after 50 minutes, the crust was very brown but the center was not set, so I had to cover it with foil. Then it cooked quickly. As far as taste: it was very rich, very sweet, and very good with vanilla ice cream! I can't complain about the richness or sweetness, because what pecan pie isn't? It got the taste test award after Thanksgiving dinner! Artistic score: 5 stars So overall? 4 stars, but now that I know what to do, this will become a traditional pie for holidays worth 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2004
Delicious! I used chocolate chunks because that's what I had on hand and thought it was perfect... very chocolatey! I didn't have the problem of too much filling... I used a Mrs. Smith's frozen deep dish pie shell and every bit of the filling fit in to it and none ran over even though I put it on a cookie sheet just in case.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Naples, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2004
I really think the chocolate chips should have been melted with the corn syrup and then mixed in with the nuts, etc. The flavors would have blended much better if that had been instructed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2004
I've never had much success with baking...but this recipe looked so easy...and it was! It turned out very well. A tad too sweet for my taste (I still enjoyed it), and my husband went nuts over it. He kept picking at it until I finally put it away! Next time, I may cut back on the chocolate chips and add a little unsweetened cocoa powder. Between the sugar and corn syrup it's sweet enough. And my advice to anyone trying this for the first time...make your own crust! I used a store-bought refigerated pastry crust and was very disappointed. It was hard and dry. This pie needs a nice, delicate flaky crust. But overall, it was still very good and I will make it again...with a home-made crust!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Willingboro, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Mount Laurel, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2003
Very rich and tasty! I found it difficult to cook to a firm center, but no one minded. I also used a graham cracker crust- will use a pastry crust next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: North Hills, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2003
Overall, it was a good recipe. But it made way too much filling. I used a frozen 9 inch pie crust and could have made two pies from one batch of filling. Also it was very chocolaty. If I make it again, I may experiment with different types of chocolate, like a bittersweet baking bar, to try and cut back on some of the sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2003
I made this for Thanksgiving and Christmas. It was a big hit each time. This pie is now my favorite pecan pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2003
I'd give this 10 stars if I could. A must for chocolate lovers. How can something so easy to make taste so good? I had a little trouble getting all my filling into the shell. Be sure to place a baking sheet under pie as some of the chocolate spilled over. I also cut my halved pecans in half again to make them bite sized.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOODLIE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2003
Have tried this twice and it's always the first dish gone. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stryker, Ohio, USA
Living In: Pittsford, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2002
This was a HIT for Thanksgiving! I am making it again on Christmas!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

Irresistible Pecan Pie

See how to make a sweet, rich, totally irresistible pecan pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States