Chocolate Pecan Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2007
If you love rich desserts and chocolate this pie is for you. I've used chocolate chunks as well as chips and both work great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marsha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonds, Washington, USA
Living In: Goldendale, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by IMVINTAGE
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
I used egg beaters for the eggs & I subbed white chocolate chips for the semi-sweet. Yummy! Because of reviews saying it was too sweet, I cut the sugar back to half a cup & decreased the chips to one cup. Used a homemade pie crust & garnished w/ a dollop of maple-flavored whipped cream & sprinkled that w/ some raw sugar. Fantastic pie...thanks Karin Christian!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
This pie was fantastic. I made it for Thankgiving and it was gone by the end of the day. I was very rich but tastefully so. I will be making this again very soon. The filling was a little to much for the pie pan and I ended up leaving a bit out. And I was fortunate for the cookie sheet underneath because it did run over. It took about 5-10 extra minutes to get the center to set and I ended up putting foil around the crust edges to prevent over browning/burning. Thanks for the easy delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2006
I made this pie for my husband, who had never had pecan pie (from a different country), and he decided he didn't like pecan pie after that! This recipe was way too sweet. I made a regular pecan pie later, and my husband liked it. If I make this again, I will reduce the amount of sugar and/or corn syrup and use dark chocolate or baking chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bartlesville, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2006
Very good recipe! This made exactly enough filling for a deep dish pie. Pie was very gooey and had a rich chocolate taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Shawnee, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2005
Very delicious recipe - wouldn't change a thing. A big hit at Thansgiving. Will be making it at Christmas too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2005
Gorgeous but I advise melting the chocolate and the butter before mixing. I added more pecan (twice the amount stated) and used ready rolled puff pastry. It came out absolutely gorgeous, gooey, sticky and heavenly! It was a real success. In all this is an extremely easy to do recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by La maman calîne

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2005
This pie is wonderful! It was so easy to make and tasted like a little piece of chocolate heaven. (On a side note however, I always have a hard time telling when they are done, so I ended up baking mine for about an hour and had no problems.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2005
As far as the directions go, I'd give a technical score of 3 stars. There are a few things I would like to add to the directions: Melt the chocolate (at 50% power in the microwave) and add 1 1/2 Tbl. butter in pieces, stirring to blend. Pour the chocolate into the bottom of a 9" DEEP DISH pie crust, and refrigerate. (If you want a more subtle chocolate taste, I suggest cutting it to 1 cup choc + 1T butter for a thin layer in the pie - I'll do this next time). Then in a bowl, beat the sugar and butter first, then add the other things, pouring the corn syrup while you are mixing. Bake in a hot oven on a cookie sheet. I preferred having a soft layering of chocolate under the pecan layer which would be easy to slice hot or cool. Baking: after 50 minutes, the crust was very brown but the center was not set, so I had to cover it with foil. Then it cooked quickly. As far as taste: it was very rich, very sweet, and very good with vanilla ice cream! I can't complain about the richness or sweetness, because what pecan pie isn't? It got the taste test award after Thanksgiving dinner! Artistic score: 5 stars So overall? 4 stars, but now that I know what to do, this will become a traditional pie for holidays worth 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2004
Delicious! I used chocolate chunks because that's what I had on hand and thought it was perfect... very chocolatey! I didn't have the problem of too much filling... I used a Mrs. Smith's frozen deep dish pie shell and every bit of the filling fit in to it and none ran over even though I put it on a cookie sheet just in case.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Naples, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

Chef John’s Pecan Pie

Pecan pie with the perfect ratio of nutty crunch to sticky sweetness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States