Chocolate Pecan Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
I made this yesterday and followed the instructions almost exactly. I took heed to other reviewers and reduced the chocolate chips to 1 cup and the light corn syrup to 3/4 cup. But I mixed everything together just like it says to. Baked 50 minutes then let it cool. We ate it semi-warm and it was ok. The next day, after the pie has chilled in the fridge all night, it was delicious! Definitely make this a day ahead and chill it overnight before serving. The chocolate chips stay whole and do not melt but, since it's a crunchy pecan pie, you don't seem to notice. I also used 1 1/2 cups pecans... yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
Excellent. Melted the butter and chocolate prior to adding. Baked at 350 for 50 minutes, then covered with foil at 375 for 15 minutes and was perfect. This is very "chocolatey" and I would not change a thing in regards to proportion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
The best, my husband's favorite and he is hard to please. loved it !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jmcgee220

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodmere, New York, USA
Living In: Carterville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
i love this recipe. it's very easy and i've done it about five times. I usually put the chocolate chips in there the way they are, but one time i tried melting them first and mixing it with the filling. I think i prefer the whole chips in there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
This pie is amazing but definately for the chocolate lover! It is extremely rich and I thought the flavor got better after it sat for a few hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
The taste was yummy. However, I followed recipe exactly and it overflowed while baking. Thank goodness it was on a cookie sheet, b/c it was alot of overflow. Also, the top got a little over done and I didn't even bake as long as reccomended. This pie is fabulous with vanilla ice cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blessedmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
I cooked pie for 65 minutes and it still didn't get done in the center. The edge of the pie was overcooking so I had to stop the baking process. Ended up with a pie that was hard on the edges and runny in the middle. The actual taste wasn't too bad though. Just a little too sweet for my taste. I melted my chocolate with the butter and maybe that's what messed the baking time up. Also, it needs something other than store-bought pie crust. It was just too overwhelming. Update: ok....after the pie sat overnight, it set up a bit more and the taste is fantastic. I could eat it all before company arrives!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
I followed the recipe exactly and this was wonderful!! I am making it again for Christmas, wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
Very good and chocolaty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
My family requests this pie every christmas, its so rich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

Irresistible Pecan Pie

See how to make a sweet, rich, totally irresistible pecan pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States