Chocolate Pecan Delite Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
This recipe is a favorite of mine. My mom made something very similar when I was a child. I substitute neufchatel cheese for the cream cheese, reducing the fat, and cheesecake flavored pudding for the vanilla pudding. The last time I made it, I also added a cinnamon sugar mix to the crust. This is one my kids ask for year after year, and its just heavenly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinkstarfish

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
The first time I made this recipe I followed the directions exactly. It was okay but not that great. The second time I changed several things. 1. I used a large square deep casserole dish . 2. I replaced the cool whip with, heavy whipping cream beat into whip cream. 3. The cream cheese and whip cream mixture I halved the powder sugar. 4. I replaced the vanilla and chocolate pudding mixture with butterscotch. 5. I layered the cream cheese mixture, then pudding then whip cream instead of mixing it all together. I loved this recipe with these changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Naomi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Wasilla, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
Followed others suggestions and added about 2 tblsp. of sugar to crust recipe. Crust didn't really turn a golden brown even though I baked it about 25 min. which I think was too long. I would suggest not looking for it to turn brown but keep the baking time around 15 min. I layered the cream cheese layer, pudding layer (used about 2 cups of milk instead of 3 which was perfect) and whipped topping layer. It looked very pretty in the glass baking dish. Also, sprinkled top with Pecans & grated milk chocolate (next time I will toast the pecans lightly). Everyone loved it & said it was a keeper! It is surprisingly light too...I was able to have 2 pieces which is very rare for me with dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
Great recipe and easy - I also layered - and added some chopped dark chocolate with the pecans sprinkled on top - delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
I've had a similar recipe for 25 years, but i lost it. Although I prefer it layered and with only butterscotch pudding. No chocolate. No vanilla. I will probably use less milk
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
Same as the one I've had my favorites box for years! Everyone loves this dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ReneeB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
VERY GOOD, thank you for sharing..everyone LOVED it..I didn't change anything!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Morehead, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Maineville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
Awesome, Family loved this. Made exactly as recipe says. Except sugar free instant pudding mix. Its all I had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
I made this for my dad's 60th birthday, per his request. He handed me the recipie that was one he had for years. I compared it to this one, and decided to make this one instead. The only difference was that his suggestsed you layer the cream cheese mixture and the pudding mixture rather than mix them together. Next time, I will try layering just for looks, but I don't think it will make a difference in the taste. Also, his recipie called for only 2 cups of milk, which I think I will try next time. 3 cups of milk seemed to make the pudding a little less "set". And lastly, his recipe called for grated Hershey bar on top, instead of pecans. So for next time: Iwould suggest that we try less milk, layer more and grate chocolate o the top. Yummy! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keuliss

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Branson, Missouri, USA
Living In: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Chef John’s Pecan Pie

Pecan pie with the perfect ratio of nutty crunch to sticky sweetness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States