Chocolate Pear Spice Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
Great holiday cake, loved the combination of spices, orange, pear, and chocolate. First time to rate a recipe... it was that good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westerville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
Delicious! Made exactly as suggested. I was surprised that even my 5 year old liked it. I thought the spices would scare her off. I think I went over 1TB on orange peel but it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Living In: Pasadena, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by nanciemartin
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
This recipe sounded so simple so I had my doubts..... I took it to a birthday gathering and it was a huge hit, everyone asked for the recipe. I did not change a thing .... it turned out beautifule with the arrangement of pears on top ... looked like it came from a bakery. Thank you for this simple recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nanciemartin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Coto De Caza, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
I made this recipe as it is and it turned out amazing.Thanks for a great recipe Carol!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Estherville, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
So Moist
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TLC
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
More of a spice cake, than a pear flavor. This is by no means is a bad tasting cake and it is soft and moist, but I was hoping for more pear flavor and should have known better since the pears are just on top. I followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TLC

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
This was a big hit at my Christmas party. The arrangement of the sliced pears on top looked so beautiful too! I don't know if it really needed the chocolate, but everything else was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
This cake is great for the holidays. The spices, orange, pear, and chocolate are a great combination and the cake itself is moist and not too heavy. This is one of the best cake recipes I have gotten off of this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KC1126

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
This was very yummy! I used sugar instead of molasses but everything else I left the same. This was so quick and easy. I chopped the chocolate really small and could hardly taste it. I will make it bigger chunks next time. I will be making this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2009
This is the first time I have ever rated a recipe. This cake is just fantastic. I made it exactly as the recipe indicated except I used milk chocolate chips on the top instead of shaved chocolate. The cake was light yet moist and just delicious. I have a feeling it will be even better tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grammycooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Leawood, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Chocolate Lava Cake

Make rich and impressive single-serving chocolate cakes.

Garbanzo Bean Chocolate Cake (Gluten Free)

See how to make a tasty flourless chocolate cake that’s high protein.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States