Chocolate Peanut Butter Treats Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
My daughters made these bars by themselves, with the 16 year-old working on the stove and the 11 year-old measuring the other ingredients. They turned out really good. They are very rich and sweet - even the girls only took a few bites of one bar and opted to save the rest for later. They are a nice idea for a snack - just cut them into bite-size pieces because a little goes a long way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Hezzy_tant_Cook
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
Living in Japan, I did not have the peanut butter chips to add to this, but happened to have peanut butter (as also called for) and EVEN had marshmallows, though not miniature, I was able to chop them to that size. This came together quickly, and the omission of the pb chips, seemed not to harm the end product. I think you could play around with this and add nuts or raisins, etc. to make faux "Chunky" candies. At any rate, both DH and I liked these. Also, you can do a half recipe, mold into a round bowl, and cut and serve like pie for a more elegant (less candy bar) presentation. ;o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hezzy_tant_Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2010
They are gooey and sticky and taste sinful. I had used butterscotch chips because I did not have peanut butter chips. My "honey" rates them an 8 out of 10 and that is a good thing!!! I kept the pot on the stove(after turning it off) while mixing everything and it all came out easily. It's a keeper...Thanks and Have Your Best Day Ever!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lianabouchard

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
Got hard for me and I followed the directions. I'm not sure what went wrong but the peanut butter never got smooth, it just kinda seized up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinArgentina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Aluminé, Neuquén, Argentina
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2009
So easy and so delicious every time! I just mix the corn syrup and sugar in a microwave safe measuring cup and microwave until bubbly. If I'm short on time, this is my go-to dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alaska

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenfield, Indiana, USA
Living In: Greensburg, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2008
Awesome treat! I used white chocolate chips instead of the regular chocolate chips and to ease the difficulty in stirring it altogether, I used a metal bowl and stirred on top of the burner which was then cooling from using it to melt the corn syrup/sugar mix. It helped. What a delightful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kokabella.com

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Malibu, California, USA
Living In: Palm Coast, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2008
This is so easy to make! I think it took less than the 20 minutes stated. I will save this recipe for sure. Thank you!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
Although these bars tasted good in the end, for me, they turned out rock hard. Not sure, maybe I did something wrong or maybe it's the way they're supposed to be. (?) I followed the recipe, but my only variation was using the crunchy peanut butter I had on hand (I assumed the recipe called for creamy). Perhaps the corn syrup mixture cooled too fast 'cause my peanut butter didn't seem to melt totally. They were good, but hard to mix, and even harder to cut into bars after they cooled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
These treats are absolutely fabulous! I love how chewy they are. They remind me of a starcrunch without the caramel. Everyone loved these! Make the recipe exactly as stated and you won't be disappointed! Thanks so much for this treat Sandy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2007
Awesome recipe!! I made it for my foods class and the comment I got the most was that they were softer than rice crispy treats. And they tasted amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States