Chocolate Peanut Butter Nirvana Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2013
Make sure the butter is soft
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 13, 2013
Unbelievable!! First off I'll start by mentioning I made this {almost}sugar free. Sugar free cake mix, chocolate chips, pudding mix, frosting, and garnished with s/f peanut butter cups, used regular peanut butter. I was pretty skeptical about converting this recipe as many of them simply don't convert well in either taste or consistency/texture...at all. This one did, unbelievably perfect. Exceptionally rich, but delicious. I made about double the frosting, but did not all add the milk, so it was a bit thicker. Absolutely loved it. I cannot imagine even paying for a better sugar free specialty cake like this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
This was quite tasty, but for some reason the chocolate chips all sank to the bottom when I made it, and of course the bottom then became the top, and so the top was mostly chocolate chip-cake and frosting, and the bottom was just regular cake. Other than that it was nice, I just think that if I made it again I'd use mini chips to lessen the chance that they'd all sink.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
Love Love Love this!! I have friends that request this frequently. I do the frosting different though. 1/2 cup peanut butter and 1 cup frosting melted in microwave for 30 seconds. Mixed then poured over top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LYNNINMA
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
I made the cake exactly as the recipe was written, with the exception of using milk chocolate instead of semi-sweet chips. The baking time was exactly 55 minutes. I did not do the thin "glaze" frosting, but rather a thicker one and using a whole can of frosting, 3/4 c. creamy peanut butter, 1/4 tsp. vanilla extract and only 2 Tbs. milk. This made more than enough frosting to do the cake (how we like it), and I garnished it with chopped Reese's peanut butter cups. Delicious but extremely rich, the cake yields more than 10 servings, especially after a heavy roast beef dinner. I made this cake specifically for my niece, who now, after having a nut allergy for most of her life, can now, amazingly, eat most nuts, including peanuts, and she mentioned to me that she had been craving something peanut butter and chocolate. She appreciated my effort, and devoured the cake with a tall glass of ice cold milk. She even asked me for the recipe and I gladly obliged, hoping that she will make it herself at some point. Thanks for a winning recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNINMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Leicester, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
This cake was a BIG hit in my house for Christmas. I didn't have a 3.9 box of pudding so I used three 1.4 ounce boxes. The cake was so moist and dense -- another reviewer said it was dry -- I don't know how that is possible!!! Also, I didn't have Vanilla frosting, so I used cream cheese frosting and only 1/4 cup half and half and left out the almond extract. My husband said it tastes like a funny bone! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2010
Very easy recipe but too rich for me! The icing was very thin so I just drizzled it on top. It was ok but I probably wouldn't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
This was good. I did change the frosting though, no almond extract, but did a 1/4 tsp of vanilla extract instead. I did not use the 1/2 cup of milk but my frosting wasn't smooth enough so I added 2 tbsp of milk, that made it just right, not to thin or thick. It was a little dry ( I like my cakes very moist though), the next time I make it I'll only bake it for 35-40 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
I really liked the flavors of this cake - and even the flavor of the frosting (though the almond flavoring is a little out of control and takes over the peanut flavor), but the frosting is a very weird soupy consistency that I didn't care for. I made 2 of these cakes to give to other people and I only ended up giving one of them away (to my son - because he can handle weird frosting). The other one I kept because I was embarassed to send it to work with my husband - and I didn't think it would transport well. Not my favorite cake recipe, but thanks anyway. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
This cake has a delicious blend of chocolate and peanut butter... but keep the milk handy! I didn't make a bundt cake, but a regular 2-layer cake. The cake and frosting needed adapting. I followed the cake box recipe and added the bag of semi-sweet morsels. For the frosting, I used equal parts frosting and peanut butter. It was creamy and meltaway.. similar to the peanut butter in a buckeye! I can't wait to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

JIF(R) Irresistible Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make classic peanut butter cookies.

Chewy Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies

Peanut butter and chocolate chunks make these chewy cookies addictive.

Peanut Butter Kiss Cookies

See how to make an incredibly easy peanut butter and chocolate cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States