Chocolate Peanut Butter Fudge Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
The taste is good, but the fudge came out hard and you couldn't cut it without it crumbling...not something I would serve to others, but my husband and I enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
I also used the powdered sugar instead of white sugar and it looked and tasted very good, it just didnt harden as much as I thought it would!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
Just responding to graininess issues - don't forget that candymaking is a crystallization project. You need to form the proper sized crystals in your fudge to have a creamy texture. If the crystals are allowed to grow to large, the candy becomes grainy and, if very large, hard and brittle. You need to stop cooking fudge at the soft ball stage as measured by a properly calibrated thermometer. If it is a recipe that requires beating, you need to stop as soon as it loses it's gloss; further beating allows crystal growth which changes the texture. Also remembering that making any substitutions may change your inhibiting agents and allow crystals to grow larger as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
109 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
This is great, BUT you must use condensed milk NOT evaporated milk (=evap. milk makes it runny, whereas cond. milk makes it soft like fudge we're all used to)....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dover, Delaware, USA
Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
I have been looking all over for this recipe. I had it years ago, but lost it in my move across country. Yes, this is a harder fudge than many people are used to, but it is my favorite! AWESOME!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
I try every year to make fudge and fail every time. I actually got this one right. I read all the reviews and it helped a lot. I did use white sugar...just didnt constantly stir. I also added some vanilla...Really very good and not grainy at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beaverton, Michigan, USA
Living In: Mason, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
For the people having trouble getting their fudge to set...Make sure it isn't raining when you make it!! I assume it's a humidity thing but my sister-in-law swears "you can't make fudge in the rain".....I love hillbillies, they know all the tricks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
Very good. This was my first time making fudge. I used an 8 x 8 pan. The only change I made was I added 1 tsp. of vanilla. I used a candy thermometer. It took 10 minutes for fudge to reach 250 degrees. Make sure you work quickly when poring fudge into pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
I made this recipe and we loved it. I did make a change or two, I used the 2% milk, and left out the baking cocoa and added 1 cup of peanut butter and 1/2 cup chopped pecan. and I used a CT till it got to 250 and it was a good soft ball stage.and it was soft and creamy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
Super simple! super good, i love it! and hubby loves it too! i used half powdered and half granulated, worked out well. Boiled about 5 minutes and tested for soft ball stage, had to let it boil another minute, minute and a half. good and fudgey! :P
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Porterville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 152) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Creamy Peanut Butter Fudge

This smooth fudge combines the flavors of peanut and marshmallow. Delicious!

World's Best Peanut Fudge

See how to make a rich-and-creamy peanut butter fudge.

Easiest Peanut Butter Fudge

This fudge is sinfully rich but a snap to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States